Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 1 of 5 (309 Views)

use vector for animation path

309 Views, 4 Replies
04-03-2012 02:54 PM

If I draw a 3d pline in acad, and bring in, can i use that as a path for the camera to fly through?

Is there any other approach that helps automate the camera placement for animations?

 

I can write lisp to create scripts if needed, I'll look at that.

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,611
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 5 (305 Views)

Re: use vector for animation path

04-03-2012 03:43 PM in reply to: jmaeding

I create animations using a series of saved views starting with the major points then interpolating others, basically setting up a digital storyboard.  I drag them into an animation to get a rough idea for timing and camera placement, similar to an animatic.  From there I fine tune the sequence by adding additional viewpoints to smooth out turns, change timing, and the like until its where I want.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 3 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: use vector for animation path

04-03-2012 05:56 PM in reply to: dgorsman

so I can make saved views in acad, and use those in the storyboard?

I did not notice how to do that in the help. I'll take a look.

 

I can easily make the views in acad using our 3d tools.

thx

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,611
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: use vector for animation path

04-04-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Saved views in the AutoCAD files translate to the NavisWorks file, but usually I create them from scratch in NavisWorks since its easier to get the right shot when I can see everything.

 

Have a look at camera animation (I think thats what its called) inside Navisworks.  It comes in under the saved views list, and you can set them up easily by just dragging in saved views, and adjusting the order the same way.  The animation will automatically interpolate positions, although going around corners usually requires a few extra views to smooth the transitions.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 5 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: use vector for animation path

04-04-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: dgorsman

the thing is, I am doing driving simulations. I want rather precise control of direction being seen.

I will have to try it to see how it interpolates corners.

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API