Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
mike
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 1 of 6 (490 Views)

Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

490 Views, 5 Replies
06-19-2011 04:27 PM

I am doing a Marketing and Presentation Sequencing for a Wall Panelization company in NC.  Since I don't have MS Project or Primavera, I am creating a Timerliner Schedule by Using the Selection Sets as added tasks to populate Timerliner.  Now normally I would do all of my "Timng" and dates with in Timeliner, since none of my anticipated TIME PERIODS would be less than 1-Hour.  BUT...............The Contractor wants to show setting 12 "Panels" per day, which ovef an 8-hr work period is 40 mins.  Since the smallest time increcment I can adjust to in Timeline is one hour.............even though it's show 15-min increments, I cna't get the Gantt bars to snap to the 15-min times........., I'm forced to expoert Timeliner out to a CSV file, bring into Excel to adjust the times to 45-min.  Now while this is really a PITA, I can live with it, even though there are 775 Tasks to be readjusted.  BUT , again,  when I try to import the updated CSV, and either Syncronize or rebuild the hierarchy, NW Crashes and Burns.  Sooooooooo, I reopen the project, "CLEAR" Timeliner, Import the CSV, and everything comes back in EXCEPT, now the actual Attachements, are not there, hence not Model shows in the Simulate Tab, and I have to now reattach each and everyone of the Selection Sets, one at a time, to their original Task.  Not very Productive.

 

HELP MEEEEEE?:smileysad:

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
New Member
OBISEN
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 2 of 6 (467 Views)

Re: Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

06-22-2011 10:08 AM in reply to: mike

Dear Mike,

I had integrated NW with PRIMAVERA and when I edit my schedule or add new activities or delete activities, I have exactly the same problem you have.

I LOOSE ALL THE ATTACHMENTS AND SETS....

Did you find a solution? Please HELPPPPPPP!

Employee
JeffH_ADSK
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 3 of 6 (448 Views)

Re: Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

06-27-2011 01:13 AM in reply to: mike

Hi Mike,

 

You don't need to export or re-import to adjust times. You can enable Show Time in Global Options/Tools/TimeLiner and edit the times directly in the TimeLiner grid of tasks. We're aware of the Gantt bar snapping issue.

 

However, I'd still like more details as to firstly why the CSV import 'crashes & burns' and how, and also how the loss of attachments is occurring. Could you describe more of the workflow that is causing this, perhaps with some example files? Opening an issue with Support may assist.

 

Thanks,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
Mentor
mike
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 4 of 6 (441 Views)

Re: Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

06-27-2011 07:49 AM in reply to: JeffH_ADSK

Thanks Jeff...........

 

I realized after a little more reseach on the web, and an Video Release by you guys on You-Tube that I hadn't seenbefore, about adjusting the imes within NWM by turning on the show times.  At first I just thought that turning on the time, it was just available to "SEE", not that it was also editable.  DUH>>>>>MY BAD>  As for the  refreshing and crashing when trying to update the csv, Each time the CER activated when NM crashed, I allowed it to continue to send the info to you.  I have been able to get the csv i'd been using to refresh now with warnings that mt "Time" syntax was not right.....once I corrected them, it seems to be stable and works now.  I'll keep you posted.

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Member
tarlei
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (403 Views)

Re: Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

07-07-2011 10:48 AM in reply to: mike

P6 does not export to MPX properly if you still have access to P3 you can go from P6 à P3à MPX.  This is a little bothersome but it will work.

Member
tarlei
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 6 of 6 (331 Views)

Re: Timeliner CSV Loses "ATTACHMENTS" on import.

08-31-2011 09:53 AM in reply to: mike

Also if you name your selection sets the same as the activities you can run a rule in timeline which will attach the selection set to the matching activity. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API