Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Dumfatnhappy2
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 1 of 6 (844 Views)
Accepted Solution

switch back in MEP 2011

844 Views, 5 Replies
11-16-2010 11:59 AM

I just re-installed my MEP and NW Review. I read that NW had to be installed *after* MEP which is what I did.  Also did the same (diff machine) with vanilla acad 2011 and now all the NW commands work there.  None of them work for me.  Do I need to re-install or does in not work with MEP?

 

 

This is expected behaviour, at the time of Navisworks 2010 release we do not know what changes will be implemented in any for the 2011 MEP release or even further ahead.

 

You can install the Navisworks 2011 exporters from here without installing the full 2011 Manage or Simulate

http://www.autodesk.com/navisworks-nwcexportutility

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (820 Views)

Re: switch back in MEP 2011

11-17-2010 06:21 AM in reply to: Dumfatnhappy2

try reinstalling the exporters for navisworks not the navisworks program

Contributor
Dumfatnhappy2
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 3 of 6 (771 Views)

Re: switch back in MEP 2011

12-03-2010 10:26 AM in reply to: DarrenP

no joy,  Navisworks 2011 will only switchback to acad 2010 or earlier   I'm running MEP 2011

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 694
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 6 (727 Views)

Re: switch back in MEP 2011

12-15-2010 03:48 PM in reply to: Dumfatnhappy2

Hello dumfatnhappy2 ,

 

I believe what you are experiencing is a direct result of having more than one AutoCAD installed. The installer saw the first AutoCAD and installed it there. I would expect that if you only had MEP installed, it would have installed the module into MEP instead of regular AutoCAD.

 

I seem to have managed to get this module working in both my ACAD 2011 and ACAD MEP 2011 installs on the same computer. I have both Navigator and Switchback working properly. Let’s try my process to see if it helps:

 

1.)   Open your Control Panel and your installed programs list

2.)   Access the Autodesk Navisworks 2011 64 bit Exporter Plug-ins

3.)   Click “Uninstall/Change”

4.)   Click “Add or Remove Features”.

5.)   UNCHECK the AutoCAD 2011 (64-bit) Plugin entry.

6.)   Click “Next”.

7.)   Follow the prompts to UNINSTALL the plugin.

8.)   After this is through access the Control Panel and your installed programs list again.

9.)   Access the Autodesk Navisworks 2011 64 bit Exporter Plug-ins

10.) Click “Uninstall/Change”

11.) Click “Add or Remove Features”.

12.) Click “Restore Defaults”. This should select the AutoCAD 64 bit plugin entry we just uninstalled (or it may already be selected by default).

13.) Click “Next” and follow the prompts to install.

14.) Retest.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_discussion.png  

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Contributor
Dumfatnhappy2
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 5 of 6 (469 Views)

Re: switch back in MEP 2011

02-24-2011 09:23 PM in reply to: dembkod

Hi David,  I don't think you understand....  if I'm running MEP 2011 and Navis 2010,  Navis does not have the ability to see into the future (if you will).   Therefore it's not an option.  If I upgrade to Navis 2011....  it's not a problem

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 6 of 6 (431 Views)

Re: switch back in MEP 2011

03-01-2011 01:56 AM in reply to: Dumfatnhappy2

 

This is expected behaviour, at the time of Navisworks 2010 release we do not know what changes will be implemented in any for the 2011 MEP release or even further ahead.

 

You can install the Navisworks 2011 exporters from here without installing the full 2011 Manage or Simulate

http://www.autodesk.com/navisworks-nwcexportutility


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API