Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 1 of 4 (1,081 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit Plugin for 2013 too?

1081 Views, 3 Replies
04-24-2012 05:26 AM

Ok, I have worked a bit now with the NW2013 reader for Revit, which reads the RVT file directly.  We do have an option to 'read' either the first 3D view in the list -or- a 3D view that has 'Navisworks' as the start of a view name.  In the past I have done alot of view setup for export to NW with disciplines on, off, mixed, etc.  So, the plugin was very useful with regard to this workflow.  So, with all that being said, is there a possibility of a NW2013 plugin as an additional addin?  I guess I am directing that to the Autodesk folks that read thru the groups here.

Well, it took a while, got the Building Design Suite Ultimate installed, and discovered the Revit Navisworks Plugin was applied to the Revit interface in External Tools.  EXCELLENT!  Best of both worlds, can read the RVT from NW or export out the NWC, either way.

Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 2 of 4 (1,064 Views)

Re: Revit Plugin for 2013 too?

04-26-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: dennis

Well, it took a while, got the Building Design Suite Ultimate installed, and discovered the Revit Navisworks Plugin was applied to the Revit interface in External Tools.  EXCELLENT!  Best of both worlds, can read the RVT from NW or export out the NWC, either way.

Active Contributor
damianserrano
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 3 of 4 (1,054 Views)

Re: Revit Plugin for 2013 too?

04-26-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: dennis

Have you been able to open rvt models directly in Navisworks 2013? We haven't been very lucky, as I mentioned in a previous post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Navisworks/Revit-Native-Support/td-p/3429029 

After much playing I was able to open a very small rvt model of 12mb, with no links or worksharing, that took around one minute to open. Of course this model is not representative of our projects at all. I am concerned about the time the revit models take to open in Navisworks. This was an issue reported during beta testing, that large rvt models were taking forever to open and if we would still be better off exporting nwc models from Revit. I would like to hear from the Autodesk folks on this.

Win 7 64bit, Intel Core i7, 2.80GHz, 16 Gb RAM.

Thanks in advance,

 

Damian Serrano, Assoc. AIA
Project/BIM Coordinator

RLF | architecture engineering interiors
www.rlfarchitects.com
AIA Florida’s 2010 Firm of the Year
Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 4 of 4 (1,049 Views)

Re: Revit Plugin for 2013 too?

04-26-2012 11:11 AM in reply to: damianserrano

I just ran a test on a 30mb RMEP file.  It took just about 30 seconds.  Not too bad in my world.  I admit, 30mb is not that big compared to alot of Revit Projects.  I will look around and see if I can find something 3 or 4 times bigger and let you know what I find.

Another area of concern on the Reader:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Navisworks/NW-Revit-MEP-2013-Pipe-Fittings-not-showing-up-as-...

And I blogged this subject as well:

http://appliedsoftwareblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/navisworks-2013-my-first-impressions.html

 

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.