Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
damianserrano
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 1 of 4 (621 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit Native Support

621 Views, 3 Replies
04-24-2012 12:43 PM

We had the 2013 suite installed today and I started playing with Navisworks to test the new rvt native support. Unfortunately I haven't been succesfull so far. I tried opening three different rvt models, sizes 300mb, 100mb and 30mb, previously upgraded to Revit 2013. Navisworks starts opening them but after a while it sits "loading" at about 12%. I have modified the settings to not convert the linked files, open the "navisworks view" and unchecked room properties, url's, etc. to speed up the conversion, but nothing helped. These are all models that we have succesfully exported to nwc in the past, taking just a few minutes to export. Anyone else seeing the same issue?

Thanks in advance.

 

Damian Serrano, Assoc. AIA
Project/BIM Coordinator

RLF | architecture engineering interiors
www.rlfarchitects.com
AIA Florida’s 2010 Firm of the Year
Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (600 Views)

Re: Revit Native Support

04-27-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: damianserrano

Dear damianserrano


Are you receiving an error “There were errors encountered while opening the Revit Model” as described in the following post or does it just hang:
- http://beyonddesign.typepad.com/posts/2012/04/errors-encountered-when-opening-the-revit-model-in-nav...

If you let Navisworks sit for a while as the file loads, does Navisworks eventually open the file?

There is an article posted on the Beyond Design blog that shows how to open the options editor in advance mode to create a log file:
http://beyonddesign.typepad.com/posts/2011/10/creating-a-navisworks-log-file.html

If you open the Options Editor in advance mode, and mark “Enable Console” a console window will open the next time you open Navisworks and will log messages in the console window as they occur.  If you enable console, are there still messages occurring related to elements being read/converted or does nothing occur in the console window either when loading the file?

After testing, to get rid of the console window while Navisworks runs, unmark “Enable Console” in the options editor opened in Advanced mode.

If you audit and purge the model in Revit 2013, does this help?

If you unmark “Convert Element Properties” in the RVT reader, does the model then eventually load?

If you limit the elements that are showing in the 3D “Navis” view in Revit, does the file still not load?

Roughly how long does it take to export those same views in those files using the 2013 exporter, and how many elements are stated that are being exported in the exporter dialog as it runs?


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
damianserrano
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 3 of 4 (589 Views)

Re: Revit Native Support

04-30-2012 10:44 AM in reply to: john.lipp

John,

thanks for your recommendations, no success yet on this one. I took a 92mb rvt model of a project currently under design in the office. Opened it in Revit 2013 and exported to nwc with the settings shown in the attached image. Please note I used the option "convert element parameters: all". It exported to nwc flawlessly in less than one minute. Synched to central and closed. Then I went to Navisworks Manage 2013 and set the revit readers with the same settings (see image attached). I tried to open the same 92mb model and it was opening it for 20 minutes when I decided to cancel the operation. I then changed the revit reader settings to "convert element parameters: none". Tried opening the model again and now I waited for 25 minutes without success before cancelling. I am not sure if the models would eventually open or not, it really doesn't make a difference with an opening time that long.

I can email you the model and the log files obtained in the second attempt if you want, otherwise we can open a support ticket, we need to find an answer for this as we will be rolling all projects to 2013 officewide in a few days.

Thanks again for your help.

 

Damian Serrano, Assoc. AIA
Project/BIM Coordinator

RLF | architecture engineering interiors
www.rlfarchitects.com
AIA Florida’s 2010 Firm of the Year
Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (540 Views)

Re: Revit Native Support

05-08-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: damianserrano

Dear damianserrano


Thank you for working with me on the support case and sending the files.  Here is a summary of what we had found. 
The issue was occurring as Navisworks was still processing and upgrading the linked RVT files that were 2012 versions linked to upgrade them even though convert links was turned off in the options for the RVT file reader. 

To resolve the issue, all the RVT links referenced under Manage Links in Revit had to also be upgraded to 2013 versions.  After this was preformed, the links were no longer processes and upgraded and the RVT file opened in roughly five minutes.  When the RVT was closed and reopened, it opened in a matter of seconds as the NWC cache file that was generated alongside it was used.

The issue with the links being processed for upgrading even though convert links is turned off is currently under investigation with our development.

Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.