Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
danjeacock
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Message 1 of 5 (197 Views)

Retaining a Search Set when reloading a .nwc into a file set

197 Views, 4 Replies
10-11-2011 08:02 AM

Hello,

 

First post so I'll make it a good one!

 

I currently have a .nwf file set that contains several .nwc's that are linked in according to the date that they were exported.

When one of the disciplines sends an updated model in Revit I -

  • export to Navisworks
  • name the file accordingly with a date specific suffix
  • move the old linked .nwc into a dated superseded folder
  • copy the new .nwc into the location where it should be
  • the open navisworks, and when asked to resolve the external reference, rapath to the new file.

When I do this I lose all the information retained in my search sets (eg, instead of looking for columns in my architectural model, it simply looks for columns in all the linked models).

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone can spot some flaws in my process then i'm all ears.

 

Cheers, Dan

Active Member
danjeacock
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Message 2 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: Retaining a Search Set when reloading a .nwc into a file set

10-11-2011 08:32 AM in reply to: danjeacock

I'm going to go ahead and answer my own question -

 

Instead of searching specific to the Navisworks .nwc file, I need to run my search according to the Revit Source File within the Item properties as this will always remain a constant, regardless of the linked .nwc reference changing.

 

Again, anyone who fancies chipping in with any other ideas about my workflow would be welcome to do so.

 

Cheers, Dan

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 3 of 5 (189 Views)

Re: Retaining a Search Set when reloading a .nwc into a file set

10-11-2011 08:42 AM in reply to: danjeacock

Hi Dan,

 

Welcome to the forums!

 

You managed to answer before I did.

 

So yes in summary the search set should look for a constant, a property that will remain the same, and Elelemtn ID that won't change or a naming convention that will be stuck to throughout the project.

 

I'm assuming you are keeping your old NWC files as a backup to revert back to incase of mistakes? Another option is to create an NWD from your NWC's and then have a master NWF referencing this. Much less cumbersome hopefully. You can also Publish these NWD's with expiry dates or passwords to protect them from misuse. If publishing isn't too important you can automate the process of saving the NWC's on a daily or weekly basis from the Batch Utility.

 

I hope this helps.


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Valued Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 4 of 5 (186 Views)

Re: Retaining a Search Set when reloading a .nwc into a file set

10-11-2011 12:30 PM in reply to: danjeacock

I'm not working with Revit files, but I have to exchange models also.

The way I do it is that I have a folder containing all current models.

When a new version of the model arrives, I create a new folder with the date yyyymmdd and place it there. Then I copy and overwrite the model in folder with the current models.

There is no need to back-up the file you overwrite, because it should be residing in a folder dating the day you got it.

By not chaging the filename, there is nothing to do with the .nwf that combines all the models. Just open it and the new version will be loaded.

In this way it could well be that your Search Set will work automatically.

But that is for you to test...

Active Member
danjeacock
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Message 5 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: Retaining a Search Set when reloading a .nwc into a file set

10-11-2011 11:55 PM in reply to: danjeacock

Thanks for your help.

 

I'll take these on board to improve my workflow

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.