Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
cstoray
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 1 of 7 (1,238 Views)

Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

1238 Views, 6 Replies
07-20-2012 01:37 PM

So I have this point-cloud of an existing building, and it's aligned in Revit with the Architectural, Structural, and MEP models.  There's no problem for us there because the tools in Revit are pretty good for this sort of thing.  However, we also want it aligned in Navisworks for our coordination meetings and the important people here who don't want to fool with Revit.

 

The goal for the project is to construct all the walls and utilities on an unfurnished floor of a fairly new building, and we're handling the coordination for that using this software.  We made a nice and very large point cloud using Faro hardware, and like I said before we had no trouble aligning it to our existing files in Revit.

 

What we want to do is export that pointcloud from Revit in it's existing, already-aligned location to Navisworks, so we don't have to move it or eyeball it in Navisworks.  If this were possible, it would just show up in the right location and we would be happy.

 

However, I can't seem to find out how to do this.  The point cloud is not carried over when I load the Revit file into Navisworks 2013.  It also doesn't work when I use the exporter.  Nor does it work when I export in any other format from Revit.  It appears that Revit is a dead end for point cloud information, and I'm hoping that there is a solution to this that doesn't involve attempting to align it with the existing-construction models within Navisworks.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 7 (1,219 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-23-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: cstoray

Dear cstoray

Revit converts the point cloud file to a PCG file upon import.  Navisworks does not currently support PCG files nor export the linked Point Cloud file from Revit.

I recommend sending a wishlist item for this functionality through our feedback page linked below:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

Our development monitors the information that is sent through this page and is always interested in your feedback.

To move the point cloud into position after appending it in Navisworks you can:

1. Use File Units and Transform to align your point cloud

2. Select the point cloud file and use Item Tools > Transform to move it into position

3. Use the Point to Point measure tool  (View > Workspace > Windows > Measure Tools) and pick a point in the point cloud and another point in your other model that match the same point in space.  Then select the point cloud file and use the Transform Objects tool in Measure Tools which will move it that distance.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
cstoray
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 3 of 7 (1,204 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-25-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: cstoray

I was hoping I wouldn't have to move it again, but thank you for your help. I have sent my wish-list item as you suggested.

Active Member
afinnerty
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2014
Message 4 of 7 (249 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-17-2014 08:15 AM in reply to: cstoray

Has this been resolved yet? This is a HUGE disconnect between Revit and NavisWorks and makes working with point cloud files extremely difficult as not everyone has Revit.

Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 5 of 7 (240 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-17-2014 11:49 PM in reply to: afinnerty
The way I to this is in a 2 step method:
1) open the cloud (and only the cloud) in Navisworks and save as NWD
2) append the NWD of the cloud to your regular Navisworks NWF model. Select the NWD in the selection Tree and perform a "File Units and Transform" there.
In this manner the distances of the alignment are stored within the NWF and are applied automatically. If you get an update of the cloud you only need to perform step 1 again.
Active Member
afinnerty
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2014
Message 6 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-18-2014 12:35 PM in reply to: Patrick_Aps_9121

Hi - When I save the point cloud as an .NWD by itself this is what I get when I append it into a new .NWF (see attached) - The point cloud is distorted into lines that don't make sense.

 

Thank you

Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 7 of 7 (213 Views)

Re: Question about aligning point-clouds for Navisworks 2013

07-22-2014 12:10 AM in reply to: afinnerty
Please clarify:
what file type is your original Point Cloud.
If you start a new NWF and append this cloud, is it visible ?
Then save as NWD
close your navisworks or start a new file.
Open that NWD with the same Navisworks or with Freedom on the same machine, is there already a difference ?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API