Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
tegtmejw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 1 of 14 (1,127 Views)

Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

1127 Views, 13 Replies
04-14-2011 12:16 PM

We have Plant 3D equipment in Navisworks and the heads on the tanks turn to points.  Is there a setting in Navisworks or Plant 3d to help smooth the object out?  See PicCapture2.JPG

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 14 (1,106 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-15-2011 01:09 PM in reply to: tegtmejw

Hi tegtmejw

Please try changing the faceting factor to 4 or higher and check if the issue is resolved.  The faceting factor specifies how many flat facets make up a curved surface.

Best regards, 

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support 

Active Contributor
tegtmejw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 3 of 14 (1,095 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-17-2011 06:52 AM in reply to: john.lipp

John, I've changed it to 4, 10, 25 and that hasn't changed the shape of the object, just made it smother on the edges.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 14 (1,075 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-18-2011 04:09 PM in reply to: tegtmejw

Hi tegtmejw,



Thank you for the update, and I'm sorry to hear the faceting factor didn't resolve the issue.

Assuming you are opening the DWG files in Navisworks, if you export to an NWC from the application using the NWCOUT command, do you have the same result?

Would you be able to post a non-sensitive DWG of one of these tanks that demonstrates the issue? If not, then we'd recommend you log a support case in the Subscription Center and upload the files so we can investigate further.



Best regards, 

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support 

Active Contributor
tegtmejw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 5 of 14 (1,056 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-21-2011 07:24 AM in reply to: john.lipp

John, We tried NWCout and it actually was worse.  Here is a pic:Capture.JPG

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 14 (1,047 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-21-2011 01:36 PM in reply to: tegtmejw

Hi tegtmejw,

Thank you for the update.  I was able to reproduce the issue using a sample Plant 3D file included in the application.  I have documented this issue and sent it to our development team for investigation.

I recommend logging a support call to Autodesk Support via the subscription site link below so that your support case can be tracked, and we can investigate your files as well:


  - http://subscription.autodesk.com/


Best regards,

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support


Active Contributor
tegtmejw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 7 of 14 (1,044 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-21-2011 01:38 PM in reply to: tegtmejw

Thanks!

Valued Contributor
bogdanov.y
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎11-02-2009
Message 8 of 14 (1,021 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-26-2011 01:52 AM in reply to: tegtmejw

I had some problems like this too. The solution was change the next:

Options>Default values of point view>Colision>Options  and unmark all. After this purge all NWC files of your project and turn load your project from original files (DWG).

Active Contributor
tegtmejw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Message 9 of 14 (1,013 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-26-2011 05:59 AM in reply to: bogdanov.y

Bog, should my settings look like this?

Capture.JPG

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 14 (998 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Models in NavisWorks 2011

04-26-2011 11:39 AM in reply to: tegtmejw

Hi tegtmejw,

I revisited the issue and it appears that the problem is the faceting factor.  Initially when you opened the DWG, I believe that you had missing Plant 3D objects.  Using a sample Plant 3D file, I checked what the tank looks like in Navisworks when the Plant 3D 2011 object enabler isn’t installed, and the top surface appears conical, as in your first screenshot that you posted.  Adjusting the faceting factor doesn’t help the issue if the enabler isn’t installed.

Also, when you exported using the NWCOUT command, the faceting factor setting for the exporter was still likely set to the default value of 1, which is why it looked worse. 

Please try the following:

FOR IMPORTING YOUR DWG IN NAVISWORKS: 

1. Download and install the AutoCAD Plant 3D 2011 Object Enabler on top of Navisworks
- http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15460094&linkID=9240618

2. In Navisworks, ensure that the DWG Loader version to 2011 in the options editor under File Readers > DWG/DXF.  Close and Reopen Navisworks to ensure that the change takes effect.

3. In the Navisworks options editor, change the faceting factor to 5 or higher under File Readers > DWG/DXF.

4. Delete the NWC cache files that were created automatically when opening the DWG models so that NavisWorks won't reuse them with the missing object data. These files will have the same name with the '.nwc' extension and reside in the same folder as the original DWGs.

When you reopen the DWG you should see the top of the tank appear correctly. 


FOR EXPORTING TO AN NWC FROM PLANT 3D

1. Open your model in Plant 3D 2011

2. Run the NWOPT command to change your Navisworks exporter settings

3. In the exporter options, set the faceting factor to 5 or higher and click ok

4. Run the NWCOUT command to export to an NWC

When you open the NWC file, you should see the top of the tank appear correctly.

 


Please let me know if this resolves the issue with the tanks.


Best regards,

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support 

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.