Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
bbrown
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-01-2011
Message 1 of 3 (561 Views)
Accepted Solution

Opening Revit files natively

561 Views, 2 Replies
08-26-2012 08:51 PM

I've only briefly played with opening Revit files natively in Navisworks 2013, so if the answer to this is obvious I apologize. The samples I used were some what complex models and all of the elements where brought in. There did not seem to be any sort of filter. Is there a way to have it only open elements from one particular 3D view defined in Revit?

Product Support
lanl
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 2 of 3 (537 Views)

Re: Opening Revit files natively

08-28-2012 12:35 AM in reply to: bbrown

Hi bbrown,

 

If you set filters in a particulat 3D view in Revit to hide some objects, and want to only import the visible elements in Navisworks when opening this Revit files, you can try steps below:

 

1. Open Revit file in Revit, then rename the particulat 3D view name to Navis.

2. Launch Navisworks, in Options dialog- -File Readers- -Revit, in right panel, set "Convert" field to Navisworks view, click OK, see attachment "NW1.JPG".

3. Open the revit file in Navisworks, then it will only import the elements visible in view Navis of Revit.

 

Thanks.  

______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Lei Lan
Valued Contributor
bbrown
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-01-2011
Message 3 of 3 (518 Views)

Re: Opening Revit files natively

08-30-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: lanl

Awesome, that is just what I was looking for. One more question, Is it required to be called "Navis" for this to work?

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.