Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
New Member
fredrik.schlau
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-14-2012
Message 1 of 7 (2,146 Views)
Accepted Solution

Navisworks NWC Export Utility

2146 Views, 6 Replies
09-12-2012 11:40 AM

Hi!

I need som help! I have AutoCad 2013 vith the Autodesk Navisworks NWC Export Utility 2013 installed.
In a project the architect is using Navis 2012 for coordination, but they can´t use our NWC-files made with 2013.
In AutoCad 2013 i have changed to "Save as 2010" by default, but i cant find any setting to change in what format the NWC-file is saved in, obviously it´s the wrong format för Navis 2012......

Hope somebody can help me with a solution for this problem.

Hi there,

 

In the general case, if you install both the NW2012 exporters & the NW2013 exporters, AutoCAD should prompt you at NWCOUT as to which NWCOUT command you want to use (e.g. in AutoCAD 2011 you should get Navisworks2012.nwcout and Navisworks2013.nwcout).

 

However, in your case, you are using a product that did not exist when NW2012 was released, and so there is no NWCOUT for AutoCAD 2013 that is from the NW2012 product group.

 

The remaining alternative is to NWCOUT using the NW2013 exporter, and then re-save the NWC in Navisworks 2013 as a 2012 file. You could automate this using the NW2013 SP1 Batch Utilities, as in SP1 switches were added to Batch Utilities to allow specification of the file version used.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,458
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 7 (2,143 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

09-12-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: fredrik.schlau

you can't save down a .nwc file

New Member
fredrik.schlau
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-14-2012
Message 3 of 7 (2,141 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

09-12-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: fredrik.schlau

But i have both NWC Export Utility 2013 and NWC Export Utility 2012 installed, but i cant choose wich one to use!?

Employee
JeffH_ADSK
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 4 of 7 (2,126 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

09-13-2012 01:05 AM in reply to: fredrik.schlau

Hi there,

 

In the general case, if you install both the NW2012 exporters & the NW2013 exporters, AutoCAD should prompt you at NWCOUT as to which NWCOUT command you want to use (e.g. in AutoCAD 2011 you should get Navisworks2012.nwcout and Navisworks2013.nwcout).

 

However, in your case, you are using a product that did not exist when NW2012 was released, and so there is no NWCOUT for AutoCAD 2013 that is from the NW2012 product group.

 

The remaining alternative is to NWCOUT using the NW2013 exporter, and then re-save the NWC in Navisworks 2013 as a 2012 file. You could automate this using the NW2013 SP1 Batch Utilities, as in SP1 switches were added to Batch Utilities to allow specification of the file version used.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
New Member
johnwbrown573
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 5 of 7 (1,742 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

12-21-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: fredrik.schlau

I'm experiencing the same issue with an construction manager firm.

How do you "re-save the NWC in Navisworks 2013 as a 2012 file"????

Mentor
mike
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 6 of 7 (1,732 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

12-21-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: fredrik.schlau

With the nwc loaded into 2013, you can Save As a 2012.nwf file..........then send that nwf to your Architect.  You cnanot save dwon an nwc file from the 2013 version....only "nwf".

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Employee
JeffH_ADSK
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 7 of 7 (1,641 Views)

Re: Navisworks NWC Export Utility

01-11-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: mike

Strictly the NWF would only reference the NWC. I am not entirely sure that the NWC data would therefore be converted to 2012. You would probably be better off using NWDs which are intended to capture all current data rather than maintain references.

 

So I think the workflow would go:

 

Export NWC as 2013

Open NWC in Navisworks

Save as NWD 2012

Use that NWD in Navisworks 2012 as you would the original NWC if it has been from 2012.

 

As NWDs are a superset of NWC data, the file should work in exactly the same manner & workflow as before, just with a different extension. There's a possibility the Source Filename property might change, but it is rare that that has any impact on typical usage.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API