Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
gzurbuchen
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Message 1 of 7 (905 Views)

NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

905 Views, 6 Replies
05-20-2011 05:55 AM

NavisWorks Manage 2012 seems to change the lighting mode by itself. I want to keep the "Full Lighting" mode when I navigate through the model but sometimes when I refresh or start up, the lighting mode seems to have changed by itself for no apparent reason and the scene is very dark - almost too dark to see most of the items. It seems to be posessed by some kind of lighting "bug".

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 7 (897 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

05-20-2011 02:51 PM in reply to: gzurbuchen

Hi gzurbuchen,

The lighting mode should be determined by your saved viewpoints.  So when you switch between viewpoints, the lighting mode should switch to whatever it was set to at the time when the viewpoint was saved. Also, the lighting mode that you have set when you save to an NWF or NWD should be the lighting mode the next time you open that NWF or NWD.

Please try opening your project and clicking through your saved viewpoints to see if any of them have their lighting mode set to something you don’t want. If so, change the lighting mode to what you want it to be, then right-click the viewpoint, and select update to resave it with that lighting mode.

If you find that your NWF or NWD file isn't set to the lighting mode you want when you initially open it, try changing the lighting mode, resave, close, and then reopen it to check if the lighting mode was saved correctly.

Please let me know if this helps. 

Best regards,

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support

Contributor
gzurbuchen
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Message 3 of 7 (853 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

06-09-2011 06:00 AM in reply to: gzurbuchen

It happens to me as I explained in the original post. Why would it change then? I still think its a bug as older versions did not react this way.

 

Thank you.

Greg Z

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 7 (833 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

06-10-2011 11:39 AM in reply to: gzurbuchen

Hi gzurbuchen,



You stated that sometimes when you refresh or start up, the lighting mode seems to have changed by itself.

 

Regarding “refresh”, I’ve not been able to reproduce what you’ve described where the lighting mode changes from Full Lights when clicking Home > Project > Refresh to refresh the models currently loaded. When you click refresh, what lighting mode is does Navisworks change to?

Regarding “startup”, when you start the application, the lighting mode will be set to Head Lights.


What file format are you loading/refreshing?  Are you linking an NWF to cad files or opening the cad files on their own? Are you opening NWD files?


The following are some instances where the lighting mode will change:

- As described in my last post, if you click a viewpoint, the lighting mode changes to whatever it was set to when the viewpoint was saved.

 
- If you click the Application button and select New to close the project, the lighting mode then changes to Head Light.

- When you startup the application, the lighting mode will be set to Head Light regardless of what it was set to when you last closed the application.

- If you currently have your lighting mode set to full lights, and you append a file, it should remain in Full Lights.  However, if you select the Application button > Open and open a cad format such as DWG, the lighting mode will change to Head Light. 

- If you click Application button > Open and open a NWF or NWD, the lighting mode will change to whatever it was set to when you last saved that NWF or NWD.

Is the issue you are having outside of the items described above?


Best regards,

autodesk_logo_signature.png

John Lipp

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

Contributor
gzurbuchen
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Message 5 of 7 (830 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

06-10-2011 12:16 PM in reply to: gzurbuchen

Hello John...when I re-save the .dwg I am working on that has been appended into NavisWorks and hit the F5 key to "Refresh", the lighting mode has a tendency to change itself from "full lights" (before the refresh) to the "head light" mode after the refresh. I am not telling NW to change the lighting mode....my ojective is to complete the refresh with as few steps as necessary. The lighting mode changing itself is undesirable.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 7 (811 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

06-13-2011 10:02 AM in reply to: gzurbuchen
Hi gzurbuchen,


Thank you for the update.  Unfortunately, I’ve not been able to reproduce the issue that you are describing.  In my testing, when I make updates to a DWG, resave, and refresh in Navisworks, the lighting mode remains set to full lights.

Is this occurring with all DWG files that you update and refresh?  For example, does this same issue occur with the Gatehouse.dwg example found under C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Navisworks Manage 2012\Examples\gatehouse if you update it and refresh it in Navisworks?

Would you be able to post two non-sensitive sample DWG files that demonstrate the issue when refreshed: one that is the original and the other the updated version to refresh?  Alternatively, could you log into the subscription center and log a case regarding this issue, and we can investigate your sample files through the support case?


Best regards, 

John Lipp

autodesk_logo_signature.png

Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Product Support
Contributor
sburke
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 7 of 7 (569 Views)

Re: NavisWorks Manage 2012 lighting mode changes itself

10-03-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: gzurbuchen

This exact thing is happening to me in 2013 navisworks Manage with all the current patches applied.

 

I'm finding version 2013 to be extremely buggy and unpredictable

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API