Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jtho
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 1 of 6 (1,082 Views)

Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Window

1082 Views, 5 Replies
04-03-2012 12:50 PM

Does Navisworks Freedom 2013 have a known bug with the Properties tab in the Selection Tree window?  Every time I pick a Properties value (such as AutoCAD, Item, etc.) the program crashes.

 

I know it is not an issue with the NWD file as it happens with every NWD file I try.  Also, the same exact NWD files work without issue with Navisworks Simulate 2013.

 

I have submitted multiple issue logs to Autodesk.  Any feedback would be great.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,071 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Wi

04-03-2012 03:47 PM in reply to: jtho

Hi jtho

I was able to reproduce what you described, and I have logged this issue with our development team. 

As the issue doesn’t occur in Simulate or Manage, as workaround, if you need to select items based off of a specific property in Freedom 2013, could you create a set for that property within Simulate and Manage, save to an NWD and select the set based off of the property instead?

I found the crash occurs if you select a category or property value in the property tab, but not when clicking the +/- to expand the categories of properties.  This offers another potential workaround to expand the category to find the property value you are looking for, and then enter the value of the property in the quick find box in the Select & Search panel of the Home tab to select the item based off of the property rather than selecting the property value in the selection tree window.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
jtho
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 3 of 6 (1,066 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Wi

04-03-2012 06:33 PM in reply to: john.lipp

Thanks for the quick response!  I will try your recommendation with the +/- pick point.

Contributor
jtho
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 4 of 6 (858 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Wi

05-08-2012 11:42 AM in reply to: jtho

Use of the +/- pick point is not working out well for our Freedom end-users that have installed the 2013 version.  The problem is many of the end-users filter what they hide and/or select by using the Properties.  So they can drill down to the property value they want but they still need to pick a specific category which then crashes Freedom.

 

Will Autodesk provide a hotfix for this issue in the very near future?  If not, how can we access the Freedom 2012 download from the Autodesk website?

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 6 (810 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Wi

05-16-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: jtho

Dear jtho

Our development team has tentatively scheduled to deliver a fix for this issue in the next Service Pack for Navisworks 2013.  Please note: Our quality assurance teams may need to reschedule some fixes. Please rely on the above timeline information as a guideline only and not a guarantee. We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

With regard to where to find Navisworks Freedom 2012, the installer on http://www.autodesk.com/navisworksfreedom is for the current version of Navisworks, which is 2013.  If you need to install the 2012 version of Freedom, you should be able to run the installer for either Navisworks Manage or Simulate 2012 and only mark the Freedom component on the installer’s page of components to install.

Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
ALL_Good
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 6 of 6 (628 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2013 - Properties values issue with the Selection Tree Wi

06-18-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: jtho

I have run across the same issue. After a lot of testing, I've discovered the following results:

 

1. If the NWD has been created with Navisworks Manage 2013, Navisworks Freedom 2013 will allow those items to be selected without crashing. 

2. If the NWD has been created with Navisworks Manage 2013, Navisworks Freedeom 2012 will allow those items to be selected without crashing.

3. If the NWD has been created with Navisworks Manage 2012, Navisworks Freedom 2012 will allow those items to be selected without crashing.

4. If the NWD has been created with Navisworks Manage 2012, Navisworks Freedom 2013 will crash.

 

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.