Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
maedrafter51
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-03-2006
Message 1 of 11 (5,044 Views)

Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

5044 Views, 10 Replies
03-10-2011 12:52 PM

I have just downloaded the Navisworks Freedom from autodesk, but when ever I go to open a file an error pops up saying that I am missing a plug-in.... Can any one help me to find what this plug-in maybe and how to get it and fix my software? Thanks in advance and hope someone knows what this is talking about.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 11 (5,037 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-10-2011 03:07 PM in reply to: maedrafter51

Stupid question time: what file are you trying to open?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


New Member
Quince71
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-18-2011
Message 3 of 11 (4,968 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-18-2011 03:21 PM in reply to: dgorsman

I have the same problem.  I am trying to view a .rvt file

 

a screen clipping is attached

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 11 (4,961 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-18-2011 03:41 PM in reply to: Quince71

Thats why its a "stupid question".  Navisworks Freedom will only open NWD and 3D DWF files (explained in the brochure and help documentation).  Its free for a reason :smileyhappy:

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


New Member
Quince71
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-18-2011
Message 5 of 11 (4,962 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-18-2011 04:00 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Not a dumb question... The help file was not intuitive.  Serched for .rvt and plug-ins and got nothing.  I'm not Techie enough to know where the problem was. 

 

Now I know that I all I need to do is have my operator convert it to NWD.  Thanks for the insight.

 

Lack of funcionality is not the reason its free.

Its free because Autodesk wants operaters to buy their software and allowing non operators to view the results for free is a great buisness model. (Adobe)

 

 

Member
jlocke11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 11 (4,903 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-24-2011 05:29 AM in reply to: Quince71

I am trying to open a model which has been saved to the .nwc format.

 

I am getting the same message, but am surprised at this, seeing as how there should be no problem in terms of formats.

 

Navisworks Freedom AND Navisworks Manage both will not open my files.

 

Thanks in advance for your insight.

Member
jlocke11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 7 of 11 (4,902 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-24-2011 05:36 AM in reply to: jlocke11

That is, Navisworks tells me that I am missing a plugin

 

whereas

 

Navisworks Manage tells me the file is saved in an unknown version number. It is saved in 2009 format

 

I am attempting to open it with 2010..

 

Again, thanks in advance for any advice on this issue

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 8 of 11 (4,898 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-24-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: jlocke11

Freedom 2011 will only open NWD and 3D DWF (2D DWF included in 2012)

 

"Unknown version number" indicates that the file was generated by a later version of Navisworks, it is possible that the 2011 exporters were installed on the machine that made the NWC file. How was the NWC file created, which application from?

 

 


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Member
jlocke11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 9 of 11 (4,890 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-24-2011 11:30 AM in reply to: lee.mullin

Hi Lee, 

Thank You for your swift reply! I need to assess a model that i've downloaded from a project-server. It was put there by our consulting engineers.

 

I know the model was initially saved to .rvt and later saved to the server as .nwd. The company assured me that it had been saved as 2009, and that I should be able to access it using my NavisWorks Manage 2010.

 

Ive tried endless times to no avail, and need to have the model checked for consistency within the next few days

 

_thanks again

 

Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 10 of 11 (4,878 Views)

Re: Navisworks Freedom 2011 error missing plug-in

03-25-2011 01:31 PM in reply to: maedrafter51

If it is an unknown version to Manage 2010, then it can only be a 2011 version NWD.

Try downloading the 30-day trial of Manage 2011 and use it to "save as 2010"

So you can go ahaed, independent of whatever your conrtractor tells you...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API