Community
Navisworks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Navisworks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Navisworks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Location issues NWD vs. NWF in Manage

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
L-Town
794 Views, 3 Replies

Location issues NWD vs. NWF in Manage

Hello,

I'm a novice with Navisworks, having no training of any sort, so if this is a dumb question, I apologize ahead of time.

I have an overall site model of a water treatment plant in individual AutoCAD and bentley autoplant .dwg files system by system and structure by structure and so on.  I have an overall site CAD.dwg file that consists of all these XREFd into one.

I have opened Navisworks Manage 2012 - opened up that particular overall site cad file, and saved it as an NWF.

As I progress through the job I save weekly versions of the overall site as Site Current_verrsion#.NWD so I can email them to the field engineers to review in freedom.  It works great. 

Now that the job is nearing completion - I was atttempting to append an OLDER .nwd file into the CURRENT .nwf, to show the changes we've made in the design to the owner, however, when I append the older file, It is in a drasticly different location miles away on the screen, not overlapped like I'm trying to see.

It's an NWD of the SAME NWF file, why would it move? and can i move it back? Or what have I done wrong?

Thank you for any help.  Much appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Patrick_Aps_9121
in reply to: L-Town

Units are indeed a tricky thing in both AutoCAD and Navisworks.

Perhaps you can do the following:

Create a second NWD of the situation today.

Begin a new file.

append only NWD files files of the different status of the project, not the NWF or the DWG.

See if they appear on the same location.

In general, I never use an overal DWG. That is the purpose of an overal nwf, that is used to create the NWD each week.

Message 3 of 4