Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Chris_Baze
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 1 of 3 (248 Views)

Leica PTS coordinates not consistent

248 Views, 2 Replies
01-16-2013 11:42 AM

Why is it that Leica point cloud files come in with the X and Z coordinates swapped? I'd image the import settings could be fixed by the developers realitivly easily?

 

Also, why do coordinates not seem to match at all between a traverse registration and the CAD file used to do the traverse registration? Theoretically, a CAD file and the laser scan based off the coorinates on the CAD file should already be aligned when they are both imported into Navisworks.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 2 of 3 (193 Views)

Re: Leica PTS coordinates not consistent

01-25-2013 10:32 AM in reply to: Chris_Baze

From what I have found, the X and Z coordinates can be swapped on many scanners. However, Navisworks expects the default values. I haven't found a tool to swap them back after the Point Cloud is generated (although that doesn't mean such a tool doesn't exist).



Lance Coffey
Valued Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 3 of 3 (179 Views)

Re: Leica PTS coordinates not consistent

01-28-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: Chris_Baze

I see 3 possibilites:

-> ask your provider that he user the very expensive Leica Cyclone to deliver consistent point clouds

-> Buy a 4k Bentely Pointools to modify and ecit the point clouds yourself

-> Use navisworks:

create a nwf per cloud

Transform the could untl it's upright and standing good

save each cloud then as NWD

 

Append these NWD to the navisworks you are working with.

 

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.