Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
chad70811
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 1 of 6 (558 Views)

Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

558 Views, 5 Replies
09-06-2011 11:03 AM

I am having an issue with my piping insulation showing in simulate 2011. Insulation shows up fine in Plant3d 2011 when insulation is toggled on. If I toggle insulation on in Plant3d and save, when I open the dwg in Simulate the insulation is not shown everything elase in the model is fine just no insulation. I have tried many times and deleted all nwc files just in case. It use to show insuation fine. Anyone have any ideas?

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 2 of 6 (541 Views)

Re: Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

09-08-2011 02:17 AM in reply to: chad70811

Do you have a sample model? Does this also happen in the 2012 products?


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Valued Contributor
chad70811
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 3 of 6 (539 Views)

Re: Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

09-08-2011 03:53 AM in reply to: lee.mullin

I am having the problem with both 2011 and 2012 products.

Also with some more testing I have found that if I use NWCOUT command in Plant3D the .nwc file produced shows insulation correctly when opened in navisworks. I have attached a dwg I am having the issue with. I have tried other dwgs also.

 

dwg link: https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B6ITVsGSYcI5MjU1ZDczM2YtYjZhNS00YmFiLWE0YzktN2VkYjkzMjY0Nzdj&hl=en_...

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 4 of 6 (533 Views)

Re: Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

09-08-2011 08:07 AM in reply to: chad70811

It looks like you'll need to load this in 2012 with the Plant 3D 2012 Object Enabler

Make sure you have the Loader Year in DWG options set to 2012 and the Render Type to Shaded.

 

Please let us know if you still have problems.


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Valued Contributor
chad70811
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 5 of 6 (528 Views)

Re: Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

09-08-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: lee.mullin

I have the 2012 object enablers installed. I have reinstalled the object enablers and Navisworks but still having the same issue. I am going to post 4 pictures showing what I get when using 2011 file type with 2012 object enablers ( at least I get some sign of insulation.) And the second set of pictures will show 2012 file type loading the same exact file. 

Valued Contributor
chad70811
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 6 of 6 (527 Views)

Re: Insulation problem- Plant3d piping

09-08-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: chad70811

Last picture attached...

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.