Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
ScotBIM
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 1 of 6 (333 Views)

Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

333 Views, 5 Replies
11-09-2012 10:39 PM

I have been trying to install Navisworks Manage 2013 (64bit) on my laptop, but when the install process gets to the same point "Extracting zh_TW" (see screen grab below) a popup appears saying;

 

Some files could not be created. Please close all applications, reboot Windows and restart the application

 

I have tried installing Simulate and Freedom instead and I get the same problem at the same point.

 

I tried reducing the length of the installation folder name to C:\NM to see if the longer file name was the issue - but same problem.

 

Any ideas? Getting desperate now.

 

navisinstall1.jpg

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 2 of 6 (300 Views)

Re: Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

11-12-2012 12:44 AM in reply to: ScotBIM

Hi, ScotBIM

Welcome to Autodesk Discussion Group. I will help you with your problem.

Your issue happened during the installation files extracted,from the image, seems some files corrupted. Where did you get the installation files? subscription center or download somewhere? did you try to extract it on another machine,if it works? Or please try to redownload NM from your sub center and retry to install,you can try to save the download in your harddisk, after download completed,click the .exe to extract it.

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!






Emily Xu
Valued Contributor
ScotBIM
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 3 of 6 (292 Views)

Re: Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

11-12-2012 02:03 AM in reply to: emily.xu

Manage and Simulate were downloaded from Sub-Center this week, Freedom from the Autodesk website.

Valued Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 4 of 6 (266 Views)

Re: Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

11-13-2012 04:26 AM in reply to: ScotBIM

I have seen a problem lik this, not with the folder you install to,

but the solution was to rename and shorten the path your deployment starts from:

The longest path in the deplyment is

AdminImage\x86\NAVMAN\Autodesk\Navisworks Manage 2013\api\net\examples\Automation\MessageClientServer\MessageClientServerInterface\Properties

 

 which is 142 charaters long.

The total lenght of our path should be less than 256 charaters, my guess

 

Valued Contributor
ScotBIM
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Message 5 of 6 (264 Views)

Re: Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

11-13-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: Patrick_Aps_9121

Patrick,

 

Thanks for the reply, but I had already tried that by copying the dployment to a folder named NM13 on the C drive of the workstation. I thought that would be short enough...... but same problem.

Valued Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 6 of 6 (261 Views)

Re: Install error for Manage, Simulate and Freedom

11-13-2012 04:37 AM in reply to: ScotBIM

Moving a deployment does not change the deployment. 

In my experience, you need to re-create the deployment if you want it to start from another location.

 

Try creating a new deployment, make it custom andleave out the AutoDesk Materials Liberary.

worth a try

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.