Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 1 of 9 (385 Views)
Accepted Solution

Freedom Install...only

385 Views, 8 Replies
10-29-2012 11:11 AM

why is there not a stand alone install of Freedom to download anymore. all i get is complaints from clients whom i tell to download Freedom to view Navisworks files. they don't want (or need) to go through the pain and time it takes to finally get and start using the free version of the product.

 

these are upper management types and have very busy schedules not to mention they are not very net or computer savy.

The installer for Freedom can be downloaded from this link.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 9 (380 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

10-29-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: thebearjed

Freedom installer is still there, so is the SP.  We still have some clients who use older versions of Review or Simulate to view NWD files, so we use Simulate to downsave published NWD files for them until they get up to speed.

 

Don't sweat the clients - they should be complaining to their own IT department to get the software they need.  Upgrades are a fact of life, simple as that.  At some point your responsibilities have to end, especially if you aren't being paid to do tech support for them.

 

For our internal supervisors, the fact I can build a separate deployment for Freedom (yay!) makes things even easier.  I can sit at their desk and start it, or send them a link and away they go.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 3 of 9 (332 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-04-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: thebearjed

The installer for Freedom can be downloaded from this link.



Chris Aquino
Knowledge Domain Expert
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 4 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-05-2012 05:17 AM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

Thanks Chris.

 

wait a tick...this is the same old 600+ MB download. is there anywhere to download just Freedom Viewer?

Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 5 of 9 (307 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-06-2012 10:43 PM in reply to: thebearjed

No, those days are gone.

just as the "no-need-to-install-just-dubbelclick-ot-run" freedom.exe file from version 5.0

 

Due to migration to .net and visual whatever programming language,

an installed Freedom is about 150MB, including End-user agreements in 16 languages, Runtimes of whatever Microsoft patch is needed an dlanguage packs

 

The only thing you can do to make it easyer for people in your company is use the "Create Deployment" wizard of Simulate to create your own deployment that contains only a Freedom and answers all the questions of the installation wizard beforehand.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 9 (302 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-07-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: Patrick_Aps_9121

Freedom 2013 can build its own deployment.  Made my day, even with the selection tree bug (later patched with SP1).

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 7 of 9 (293 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-08-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: dgorsman

do tell, how do you acomplish this?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 8 of 9 (289 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-08-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: thebearjed

What, creating a deployment?  Its really pretty easy.  First you need a common network location everybody has read access to; you'll need full rights.  Its also a good idea to throw some version-specific folders in there for other releases, plus SPs, hotfixes, etc.

 

Run the installer as normal.  At the initial dialog it will give options to install or create a deployment - pick the latter.  It will go through a few basic options, like where you want to create it (point it at your network folder).  For the most part you can just take the defaults but if the installer doesn't include the SP, I would recommend pointing the deployement to the provided one(s) so they are automatically added.  There should also be an option to do it as a silent install, which is a good idea if you are only going to provide links to users.

 

Once the deployement is created, it has a short cut you can link to from anywhere on the system.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 9 of 9 (286 Views)

Re: Freedom Install...only

11-08-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: dgorsman

ah, ok...thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API