Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Member
StoneCap
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-12-2011
Message 1 of 22 (3,251 Views)

Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

3251 Views, 21 Replies
01-12-2011 12:33 AM

Hi

 

I plan to import models fron Revit (construction and arch), MagiCAD (Electrical installations, pipes) and TEKLA (Steel) into NavisWorks Simulate.

 

Is there a way to produce Drawings from NavisWorks that contain 1) all these CAD drawings in one? 2) i e produce a drawing with Construction + Electrical installations (as a selected choice)?

 

 

If not, is there a better way to maybe produce total (or selectable drawings) from 3 CAD systems with a viewer ?

 

Regards

 

Stein

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 2 of 22 (3,245 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

01-12-2011 03:27 AM in reply to: StoneCap

DO you mean produce 2D drawings from Navisworks? At this moment this isn't supported.

 

You can create a 3D model from all the files in Navisworks, but there is no ability to turn these into 2D sheets from any of our export routes.

 

Use Navisworks Exporter in Revit

Either import MagiCAD model with Object enabler installed or export from native application

TEKLA model should be exported to IFC then this can be imported to Navisworks.

 

Navisworks Exporter utility can be found here for machines without access to Navisworks Simulate or Manage

http://www.autodesk.com/navisworks-nwcexportutility


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 3 of 22 (3,193 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

01-15-2011 01:02 PM in reply to: lee.mullin

Tekla can export 3D DGN also, that NavisWorks can read. This results in smaller NWD files than the IFC way, but less information about the steel profiles used.

With NavisWorks you can create a perendicuar view and slice that to create a JPG file that views the model like a floor plan or 2D section would, but it is not a drawing, just a JPG file....

 

If AutoCAD could reference and slice NWD files however, like I already requested, the combination of AutoCAD and NavisWorks could do this.

 

Or maybe just load the 3D DGN file from Tekla into Revit and see how far you get...

Active Contributor
markusvikström
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 4 of 22 (2,636 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

07-18-2011 03:21 AM in reply to: lee.mullin

>>> DO you mean produce 2D drawings from Navisworks? At this moment this isn't supported.

 

 

This I would like very much, put it in Navisworks Manage and you get some extra bucks. For large coordination projects where the models comes from a variaty of cad systems, it would be very nice to be able to create 2d line plan/section drawings from the Navisworks 3D view.

 

In larger coordination projects there are very few software that can handle the models as good as navisworks, generating 2D linework from the view should not be that difficult.

 

Please add to development list, I promise to buy some more licenses!

 

/Markus

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 5 of 22 (2,634 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

07-18-2011 03:23 AM in reply to: markusvikström

Do you want to give us some feedback via this page about your workflows and how this might help?

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Active Contributor
rsloyer
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
Message 6 of 22 (1,944 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

09-13-2012 12:43 PM in reply to: lee.mullin

I realize this is really old, but it's the only reply I got googling.  Has this been addressed yet?  Being able to export 2D CAD files or any other sheets to scale would be very, very helpful.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 7 of 22 (1,924 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

09-14-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: rsloyer

And very, very dangerous.  Not to mention complicated - your sheet drawings are probably different from ours, are probably different from others.  Best to do it in the applicable software (Revit, Plant3D, Civil3D, Inventor...) which is designed from the get-go to produce those drawings properly, without polluting Navisworks with kinda-sorta tools for each and every application under the sun.  Lets keep it as it is - a coordination tool, not a drafting tool.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Contributor
rsloyer
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
Message 8 of 22 (1,923 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

09-14-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: StoneCap

You must be an architect.  I'm not interested in your sheets or numbering as they are pretty much irrelevent to what I'm doing on the construction side once the trade contractors have prepared their models.  In fact, the workflow is irrelevent to this discussion.  If it can't be done currently in Navisworks, it should be added.

 

I'm actually not interested in doing this fron Freedom, but Manage, but this is the only place I could find this utility being discussed.

 

When I get models from multiple trades, all generated from different programs, and spend the time to bring them all into Manage to coordinate, issue a report, get new models, re-import and re-run to check that they corrected the clashes, it's asinine to have to jump out to a seperate program to generate contract-required 2D coordinated drawings.  I should be able to take views, to scale, within Manage to satisfy that requirement, not have to re-compile everything into some separate program, or push it out to DWF to do it.  That is all a time eater.

 

If YOU don't require this functionality, don't use it.  Autodesk adding it to help someone else in the industry shouldn't affect you at all, anf frankly shouldn't be at all difficult for them to do.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 22 (1,916 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

09-14-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: rsloyer

Not architect, process piping industry.  So when I say "bad" I don't mean ugly or a low ceiling.  I mean five-o'clock news BOOM-toxic cloud-dead people bad.  While its fine to get general dimensions and visualizations for reference purposes, we, our clients, and our fabricators have zero interest in anybody being able to generate construction drawings from Navisworks which can conflict with the actual engineering drawings.  And as a CAD admin I have zero interest in bloating up the program with features which can, and have, been done in other applications.

 

"Yes" and "no response" aren'the only valid opinions.  Sometimes you've gotta raise the hand and say "I don't think so, Tim."

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Contributor
rsloyer
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
Message 10 of 22 (1,908 Views)

Re: Drawings from NavisWorks Freedom

09-15-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: StoneCap

So regardless, you're design-side?

 

Look, arguing about whether or not you think these drawings should be produced is silly.  They WILL be produced, they HAVE BEEN produced in the past, and they WILL BE produced more and more in the future.  I am seeing more and more government contracts that require coordinated drawings as a submittal.  Federal, state, and local/county. So the choice becomes to either be able to produce that submittal out of Navisworks, with all the correct files that were used for the coordination, and the drawings that will produce the drawings that will be used for construction, or to start over from scratch in a program that allows me to produce the required submittal.  Like it or not, the trade contractors are going to take their final coordinated shop drawings and build from those, so the idea that something is changing in this process isn't really accurate.  I'm asking for an improved workflow that affects nothing in the real-world construction process.  You don't think a ductwork subcontractor works off of design drawings in the field, do you?  The drawings that I have to produce are not meant as construction drawings, but they will simply be overlays of the models that will produce the contruction drawings.

 

Nobody uses every single aspect of any software package.  It's 2012, I think we can drop the "bloat" complaint from the discussion from now on as it's not like the computers we're all using can't handle larger programs, or that there isn't already all manner of features in any software package that one person or another isn't using.  I'm not a tech guy, or a computer guy, I'm just a guy that has to comply with a contract, and wants to do it in the least amount of time and with the least amount of opportunity to make mistakes.  Either that or Autodesk should go back to selling Navisworks like they did when it was Jetstream so we can all a-la-carte the features we want and only pay for what we're using.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API