Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
docsaintly
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 1 of 3 (400 Views)
Accepted Solution

Corrupted Install

400 Views, 2 Replies
07-15-2011 09:01 AM

I have a user who downloaded Navisworks 2012 Freedom from the Autodesk website and was having issues launching it. It was showing error messages about missing DLLs, so I assumed it was a bad Install.

 

Upon trying to uninstall it, it showed an error saying it was missing a language pack and could not continue.

 

I proceeded to do a manual uninstallation which included: erasing the program file directory, clearing registry entries, running a second registry check with CCleaner.

 

Even after this, when the user runs the downloaded Navisworks 2012 Freedom installer, it says that the software is already on the system and can't re-install it.

 

What is it looking at that it thinks it is still installed on the system?

 

Any help is much appreciated.

docsaintly,

 

Hello. The Freedom install key(s) in your registry is/are preventing it from installing. Be safe and backup your registry and then rename or delete the Freedom installer keys.

 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Products\758040878159D794190BF924C9FB8053

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Products\7580408781599040190BF924C9FB8053

 

The removal of these keys should allow a reinstall.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski       

 

ADSK_logo_discussion.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 652
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 2 of 3 (395 Views)

Re: Corrupted Install

07-15-2011 01:17 PM in reply to: docsaintly

docsaintly,

 

Hello. The Freedom install key(s) in your registry is/are preventing it from installing. Be safe and backup your registry and then rename or delete the Freedom installer keys.

 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Products\758040878159D794190BF924C9FB8053

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Products\7580408781599040190BF924C9FB8053

 

The removal of these keys should allow a reinstall.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski       

 

ADSK_logo_discussion.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
New Member
anwarktarn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 3 of 3 (101 Views)

Re: Corrupted Install

06-22-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: dembkod

same thing happend to me also. it was autodesk inventor 2014. which reg file should I delete to reinstall?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API