Community
Navisworks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Navisworks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Navisworks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting Navisworks to dwg

27 REPLIES 27
Message 1 of 28
ben.furness
119704 Views, 27 Replies

Converting Navisworks to dwg

Hi, I am new to this but want to know if I can convert a Navisworks NWD file back into a dwg or dxf?

Thanks.
27 REPLIES 27
Message 2 of 28
JeffH_ADSK
in reply to: ben.furness

Navisworks does contain the ability to export to DWF. There is no export to DWG or DXF.

I hope that helps,

Jeff

Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
Message 3 of 28
ben.furness

Hi Jeff,
Yes that helps alot but my next questions are;

How do I get it to dwf? Could you sned me a link about how to do it please?
And if I so, can I then convert it to dgw?

I have a fairly complex 3D model that I have been sent by architects and ned to build and add details etc to it.

Thanks for the reply.
ben
Message 4 of 28

The solution sould be the other way around.
AutoCAD should be able to have an NWD as an external Reference.

Think of the capabilities:
-> Creating floor drawings and sections as Viewpoints in NWD and use AutoCAD to make proper drawings with dimensions and sheet border
-> Draw in AutoCAD (plant) 3D while the existing part of the was made in whatever application that NavisWorks can convert to NWD

But that also is something on the "which list"
Message 5 of 28
JeffH_ADSK

Sorry, I should have specified how you export to DWF. Once you have the desired models in Navisworks, go to File/Export/Autodesk DWF to run the export.

As for the conversion to DWG or loading said DWF into AutoCAD, you'd be better off querying that in the AutoCAD discussions forums, as what I might recommend may not be the optimal approach.

Hope that helps,

Jeff

Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
Message 6 of 28
ben.furness

Cheers Jeff,