Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 1 of 4 (1,014 Views)

Can URL links associated with Revit components become hyperlinks in Navisworks?

1014 Views, 3 Replies
12-30-2010 07:58 AM

My testing suggests no, but I am hoping I missed something.  I am able to copy the url information and create a link, but I am hoping for automation.

Distinguished Mentor
Patrick_Aps_9121
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 2 of 4 (983 Views)

Re: Can URL links associated with Revit components become hyperlinks in Naviswor

01-02-2011 04:36 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

I have no experience with Revit, but I know that when an URL is in a DWG, it remains in the published DWF.

and I know that NavisWorks Freedom can open DWF.

So maybe you can publish to DWF from Revit,

and open the DWF in NavisWorks Simulate and see if you have URLs.

But it's just a hunch....

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 694
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 3 of 4 (949 Views)

Re: Can URL links associated with Revit components become hyperlinks in Naviswor

01-04-2011 02:17 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hello nelsonweeks,

 

Users have imported URL links as properties, but the links themselves will not be active links. That is, you will not be able to click on them and navigate directly. The links would be text-based.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_discussion.png  

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Valued Contributor
mdenheijer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
Message 4 of 4 (489 Views)

Re: Can URL links associated with Revit components become hyperlinks in Naviswor

03-02-2012 01:56 AM in reply to: dembkod

I also have a question about this. In the current version converting URL's is partially possible. If you create a Revit parameter of type URL, and in the export settings you choose 'convert URLs', then the URL properties that are type-parameters, come as an active link in Navisworks. But I have 2 questions about this:

 

1: Why does the conversion of URL's only work on Type-parameters and not on Instance-parameters?

2: Why are all the names of the links 'Revit' instead of the parametername?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API