Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
DesaiTC
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-16-2014
Message 1 of 5 (60 Views)

Anipath in naviswork

60 Views, 4 Replies
08-13-2014 11:14 AM

Is there any kind of option or plugin (anything) that would work just as ANIPATH command in AutoCAD ?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 5 (50 Views)

Re: Anipath in naviswork

08-13-2014 04:09 PM in reply to: DesaiTC

No plug-ins necessary.  Both Simulate and Manage have methods for both camera and object animation, as well as saving it to file.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
DesaiTC
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-16-2014
Message 3 of 5 (46 Views)

Re: Anipath in naviswork

08-13-2014 09:23 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Thanks for your reply.

I know about viewpoints. I am able to save viewpoints at different locations and then when I put it under animation group, it automatically animates the viewpoints. That's great.

But as far as I know, there is nothing like anipath that I can assign path & target as that in AutoCAD. Could you give some hints. ? 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 5 (38 Views)

Re: Anipath in naviswork

08-14-2014 07:53 AM in reply to: DesaiTC

Not certain, as I've not used AutoCAD for animation (like trying to drive a nail with a pickaxe: picking the right tool for the job).  Navisworks viewpoints have both camera targets and positions so the animation can be conrolled with some precision.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
DesaiTC
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-16-2014
Message 5 of 5 (34 Views)

Re: Anipath in naviswork

08-15-2014 08:36 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Haha, pickaxe. :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks for your reply. You are right actually.

 

But for some folks, who don't need that much precision and don't have enough time, AutoCAD's ANIPATH is great.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.