Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
jclaidler
Posts: 520
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 1 of 8 (529 Views)

Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

529 Views, 7 Replies
11-23-2009 09:41 AM
I have an existing deployment image of Navisworks 2010, for which I want to add the Service Pack to.
When I go to modify the deployment, I see no option to add this. Am I missing something, or does this option not exist as it does for other Autodesk applications?

Thanks for any help.
____________________________________________________________________________________
AutoCAD 2014 | Inventor Professional 2014 | Vault Professional 2014 | Navisworks Manage 2014

Autodesk Certified Professional: AutoCAD 2014
25 years of Autodesk Application Experience
Active Contributor
AndyG_ADSK
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 2 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

11-24-2009 03:48 AM in reply to: jclaidler
Correct, the option does not exist. The service pack will need to be run after the deployment is installed.

Andy
Valued Mentor
jclaidler
Posts: 520
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 3 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

11-24-2009 04:34 AM in reply to: jclaidler
Thats very inconvenient. Thanks for the update, but this is needed for future releases.
____________________________________________________________________________________
AutoCAD 2014 | Inventor Professional 2014 | Vault Professional 2014 | Navisworks Manage 2014

Autodesk Certified Professional: AutoCAD 2014
25 years of Autodesk Application Experience
Active Contributor
AndyG_ADSK
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 4 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

11-24-2009 05:54 AM in reply to: jclaidler
If you want to describe the nature of inconvenience, that would be helpful. At this moment, we have no plans to add the option in for 2011.

Andy
Valued Mentor
jclaidler
Posts: 520
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 5 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

11-24-2009 06:08 AM in reply to: jclaidler
I'm a CAD Manager for roughly 3,000 users. We roll out deployments silently and they get installed overnight.
It would be nice, like the other Autodesk applications, to be able to include the service packs into the deployment. Makes installation much easier.
____________________________________________________________________________________
AutoCAD 2014 | Inventor Professional 2014 | Vault Professional 2014 | Navisworks Manage 2014

Autodesk Certified Professional: AutoCAD 2014
25 years of Autodesk Application Experience
Active Contributor
AndyG_ADSK
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 6 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

11-24-2009 07:16 AM in reply to: jclaidler
Is it not sufficient to run the service pack silently? Pass /S (note: Captial S, /s will not work) as the argument to the service pack executable.

For new installs, could you not create a batch script that first runs the deployment, then runs the service pack afterwards? A batch script to do this would look something like this:

pushd *setup.exe folder*
setup.exe /Script /Wait /Language en-US *deployment_inifile*
popd
service_pack.exe /S

Andy
*Matt Stachoni
Message 7 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

01-11-2010 11:10 AM in reply to: jclaidler
The question is not "is it not sufficient to do X Y Z workaround."

The question is why does the Navisworks team feel it's OK not to follow the same
higher and MUCh more convenient standard set by the rest of Autodesk's
applications?

Matt
matt@stachoni.com


On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 07:16:11 -0800, AndyG_ADSK <> wrote:

>Is it not sufficient to run the service pack silently? Pass /S (note: Captial S, /s will not work) as the argument to the service pack executable.
>
>For new installs, could you not create a batch script that first runs the deployment, then runs the service pack afterwards? A batch script to do this would look something like this:
>
>pushd *setup.exe folder*
>setup.exe /Script /Wait /Language en-US *deployment_inifile*
>popd
>service_pack.exe /S
>
>Andy
Active Contributor
AndyG_ADSK
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 8 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: Add Service Pack 1 to Deployment

01-12-2010 12:59 AM in reply to: jclaidler
Matt,

Our installer has a number of complexities not present in other Autodesk products that mean we cannot use the same service pack procedure. It is our desire to follow the standards of other Autodesk products but in some cases it is not possible.

Andy
Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.