Navisworks API

Navisworks API

Reply
Valued Contributor
ProfWolfMan
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-21-2010
Message 1 of 4 (374 Views)

'unique id' / persistent id of modelitems

374 Views, 3 Replies
09-12-2012 11:51 PM

Hi all,

 

I am new to Navis.

Previously i am working with AutoCAD and vb.net.

 

How to identify 'unique id' (persistent) of modelitem as like handle in AutoCAD?

 

It looks very basic but i can not understand how navis handle this one?

 

Please advise me.

 

Thanks for looking.

Thanks & Regards,
G
ADN Support Specialist
xiaodong.liang
Posts: 1,335
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 2 of 4 (365 Views)

Re: 'unique id' / persistent id of modelitems

09-18-2012 02:59 AM in reply to: ProfWolfMan

Hi,

 

Hope this blog answers your question:

 

http://adndevblog.typepad.com/aec/2012/06/persistent-item-id-of-navisworks-objects.html



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Valued Contributor
mdenheijer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
Message 3 of 4 (284 Views)

Re: 'unique id' / persistent id of modelitems

01-30-2013 02:42 AM in reply to: xiaodong.liang

Hi,

 

I have the same question regarding an unique identifier for modelobjects.

 

This blog suggests that Revit ElementID and Navisworks GUID are unique. The attachments show that for both ID's there are more objects with the same value.

 

If anyone knows how Navisworks identifies it's objects unique, please comment.

 

 

ADN Support Specialist
xiaodong.liang
Posts: 1,335
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 4 of 4 (261 Views)

Re: 'unique id' / persistent id of modelitems

02-19-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: mdenheijer

hi,

 

I can only see display name of the ModelItem in your screenshots. Yes, they can be same. e.g. if you insert two blocks from the same block definition in DWG, you will get two model items with same display name. They are the name of the block definition and blocks. Only blocks have Entity Handle. From the attached snapshot, their Entity Handle are different, but display name are same. So, I think this is simialr to Revit file, i.e. different model items have same display name. 



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.