Navisworks API

Navisworks API

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2009
Post 1 of 6

NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

326 Views, 5 Replies
11-07-2012 12:35 PM

I have written an application in VB6 which uses the nwcontrol. The app allows the user to open a Navisworks model. Then I have a command that will change colors of objects based on properties. This all worked in Navisworks 2010, however, when I run the command to change colors I get the unlicensed API message. My company has over 200 navisworks licenses so I know we have licenses. Some of the stuff I've read hints that I need to embed the license in the app. How would I do this or how can I get the app to run some of the actions to manipulate objects inside the navisworks model.

 

Any help would be appreciated

 

Thanks,

Jamie

ADN Support Specialist
1,352 Posts
81 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Post 2 of 6

Re: NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

11-13-2012 08:07 PM in reply to: jamierichard
Hi, Please refer to this post. http://adndevblog.typepad.com/aec/2012/05/navisworks-activex-controls.html


Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2009
Post 3 of 6

Re: NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

11-15-2012 03:22 PM in reply to: jamierichard

Thank you for your response. However, this didn't exactly answer my question. Point 5 in the link you refer is as follows:

 

5. API Not Fully Enabled

By default what the Lite, Full or Redistributable controls can do is open a model, change navigation mode and select pre-defined viewpoints. Most APIs abilities are not enabled.

When you try to access the un-enabled methods/objects, you will receive a failure:

"Navisworks Error - API Unlicensed"

 

How to I fully enable the control so I don't get the above message?

ADN Support Specialist
1,352 Posts
81 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Post 4 of 6

Re: NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

11-15-2012 06:06 PM in reply to: jamierichard

I forgot one more blog in the last message

 

http://adndevblog.typepad.com/aec/2012/06/navisworks-activex-navisworks-error-api-unlicensed.html

 

It is true as indicated in this blog. You must use Integrated control to have full abilities. This means you must install Simulate/Manage. Sorry.



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-04-2009
Post 5 of 6

Re: NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

12-03-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: xiaodong.liang

I have navisworks 2012 simulate. where do I find the integrated controls

ADN Support Specialist
1,352 Posts
81 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Post 6 of 6

Re: NavisWorks 2012 - Unlicensed API

01-07-2013 09:50 PM in reply to: jamierichard

As in the blog I mentioned: 

 

6.

(2) The GUID can be found in the registry if they have been installed. e.g. searching with ‘Integrated Control’, you can get the GUID. And replace the CLSID with this one in the HTML.

 

<OBJECT ID="NWControl01" CLASSID="CLSID:29877E00-BEC4-4A2D-B40E-5AB27F4A916C">
<PARAM NAME="_cx" VALUE="7000">
<PARAM NAME="_cy" VALUE="7000">
<PARAM NAME="SRC" VALUE="c:\temp\gatehouse.nwd">
</OBJECT></p>

 



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!