MotionBuilder Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s MotionBuilder Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular MotionBuilder topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finger joint will not move

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
1280 Views, 7 Replies

Finger joint will not move

Hi,

I am completely new to MotionBuilder and have been asked to help clean an animation that is already close to finished. However, I am attempting to get my character to grip a hammer. The parent child constrain has alread been set up and works correctly but I cannot get the character to make a proper closed grip.

The knuckle joint on the character appears to be fixed or frozen and does not move at all when i manipulate the fingers in the controls tab of character tools. I have attached a image of how what the problem looks like. 

I think the issue may be related to the mapping list but I'm not sure. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Alan

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

It's 5 years later and this is still unanswered, not even a suggestion. I am new to motionbuilder and having the same issue. If I figure it out I will post a solution for the next poor soul that has this problem.

Thanks

Message 3 of 8
jps
Advocate

Not sure to clearly understand exactly.

If your fingers are not moving:

It might be a bones/controllers limit that prevent fingers to rotate or a constraint or a pivot axis problem.

Check the finger bones (joints) and control rig controllers properties to see if you have any limits.

Check your bones pivots axis and see if they are properly aligned to the finger length and unified up.

Check your stance pose (pose at characterization). You will have best result if your finger are flat and straight.