Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Twisting Problem when using a Helix for Path Deform

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
3963 Views, 5 Replies

Twisting Problem when using a Helix for Path Deform

Alright, this is my first time to post because I am at my wit's end. It seems that no one else has ever had this problem on the internet and I find that extremely hard to believe...

I want to take a flat plane...... and animate it on a helix path... to simulate a flat piece of paper winding onto a large cylinder... not straight like carpet or something, but wrapping like ribbon on a cylinder.

This should be simple enough.... but the "ribbon" in this case twists on the helix as it makes its way through the percentage of the path..... and there's no control for that....

The first attached image is just a simple helix path with path deform.
The second attached image is me flattening out the bottom-most part of the plane and then showing how it twists around the helix path as it goes up...

Does anyone have any clue what is happening here and why I have no control over the path twisting?

I have tried the path constraint instead and I get the same results... and also the path deform WSM with the same results. I am using 3DS MAX 2011. I even went back and tried it in 3DS MAX 2009 and v9... and they all do the same thing.

Any ideas here gang?
Thanks in advance.

Jason

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Steve_Curley
in reply to: Anonymous

I can get it pretty close here - make sure the plane is correctly oriented at the start of the Helix. Use the Rotation in the PathDeform for this. Up the percentage so most of the Helix is covered by Plane, then adjust the Twist value to straighten it out. I ended up with an odd value of -461 to get it flat all the way up.