Area :: Header
New tools, templates and workflows
Announcing Extension 2 for 3ds Max 2015 and 3ds Max Design 2015
Discussion Groups

Modeling

Reply
Active Member
Newtomaya_1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-26-2010

Noob question: how do i subdivide a mesh?

7623 Views, 4 Replies
01-07-2011 05:58 PM
i have a mesh, i did box modeling and i want to sub divide it....how do i do that? when i click on subdivide it gives me a new mesh which is already subdivided.... how do i subdivide a mesh that i have selected? thanks
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
goodvibrato
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-21-2007

Re: Noob question: how do i subdivide a mesh?

01-08-2011 02:14 AM in reply to: Newtomaya_1
Select the mesh and from the polygon menu: Edit Mesh > Add Divisions. You can click the box next to the name to customize how many divisions you want. If you want to subdivide the mesh while smoothing it, you can select the mesh and go Mesh > Smooth. If you just want to preview a smooth mesh, press 3. To go back press 1.
Please use plain text.
Active Member
Newtomaya_1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-26-2010

Re: Noob question: how do i subdivide a mesh?

01-08-2011 08:18 AM in reply to: Newtomaya_1
ohh ok but i still have 1 more question?

cant i subdivide it and then use the crease tool to pick how much i wana get it into that smoothing shape?
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
goodvibrato
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-21-2007

Re: Noob question: how do i subdivide a mesh?

01-08-2011 09:36 AM in reply to: Newtomaya_1
Creasing is used with Subdivision Surfaces. If you're using polygons, then to add a crease you just add edges close to other edges. For example if you create a basic polygon cube with 6 faces and press 3, it will look like a sphere. But if you add edges close to all the sides it will look like a cube when smoothed.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
valenRedBull
Posts: 1,074
Registered: ‎04-01-2013

Re: Noob question: how do i subdivide a mesh?

01-08-2011 06:08 PM in reply to: Newtomaya_1
You can use "Edit Mesh" --> "Crease Tool" if you are working with Polygons. But often you'll find that it doesn't work just how you want it, and you're better off adding more edges as roki already suggested above.
Please use plain text.