Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My first dab at modeling in 3ds max

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
298 Views, 4 Replies

My first dab at modeling in 3ds max

So in short this is the first bit of modeling i have done ever. I have no previous experiences in 3d and i am learning at home by myself so things are a little bit trickier.
Anyway I've hit a problem every time i render my model i see a small hole in the mesh yet i can't see the hole in the viewport.
Its probably a really obvious beginner question, so i'm sorry if it already has been asked.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Brock_Lafond
in reply to: Anonymous

The first thing that comes to mind is conflicting internal edges of your polygonal faces.

Turn on Edged Faces (F4 Key) In editable poly, go to Edge subobject mode, and then click on Turn in the Edit Edges panel. You'll see some edges appear. Check around your problematic area and see if there are any edges that are super close to each other.

It could also be a surface normal problem. If you were using the legacy Edit Mesh instead of using Editable Poly, it is possible to weld verts with conflicting normals. Try putting a Normal Modifier on top of the stack and check Unify. You may have to flip the normals if they face the wrong way.
Alias/Wavefront Maya 3 -> Discreet 3DS Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
EVGA Classified Super Record 2
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Corona Renderer, mental Ray
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous

Could it be that you somehow flipped a polygon? I mean if it's not realy visible in the viewport...
Go to sub-object -> polygon -> select -> flip
Message 4 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Brock_Lafond

Thank you so much it was an easy fix that only took me two minutes
Message 5 of 5
tim
Contributor