Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Methods to make ogive shapes?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Anonymous
837 Views, 2 Replies

Methods to make ogive shapes?

Hello Autodesk community!

I want to model the "bell" (nozzle) of the Vulcain 2 rocket engine...

...but I'm new to 3D modelling, and I have a potentially noob question: How do I make ogives in 3DS Max?

I'm assuming a good way to do this is with Splines and the Lathe modifier, like the glass tutorials...But while glasses can be satisfactorily made "eyeballing it", I would like a (more) mathematically accurate way to doing ogives (which I can then use to make the rocket engine's bell), if possible.

If you can provide me with guides or explanations on how to do ogives, that will be enough, but in favor of getting further instruction in advance/without further question threads, you are welcome to also give instructions or links to guides to any technique that will help me learn more about repeated conical shapes...My objective is to learn enough to achieve something like this:

Thanks in advance!

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Brock_Lafond
in reply to: Anonymous

Modeling the warheard won't be an easy task.

Get as much photo reference as you can. Based on that reference go about modeling things logically.

Set up primitive objects to block out major forms and then start detailing.

A lot of the fine piping detail is easily modeled with splines that have thickness applied.

Model what is seen and don't worry about all of the super fine things. Much can be done with bump maps.

Alias/Wavefront Maya 3 -> Discreet 3DS Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
EVGA Classified Super Record 2
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Corona Renderer, mental Ray
Message 3 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: Brock_Lafond