Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making a small thin chain?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Anonymous
902 Views, 2 Replies

Making a small thin chain?

Ok so im fairly new to this creating 3d models and what not but i really enjoy it. at the moment i am using maya 2011 as my net connect sucks and i cant download anything else, sucks.

So i started messing about with polygons and the tools to create a few swords and what not for skyrim, decided my own mod needed a few new things. After being 90% happy with 1 model i decided to start on the detail, which is were i hit a wall and now need a bit of help. So here i am.

I am trying to make a small thin chain like one on the old pocket watches but i just cant seem to do it, i have used the torus and pipe polygons to try and create a nice looking chain but it does not work, they look wrong, to fat on the edges or not thin enough on the sides. its really frustrating as i enjoy making things like this.

if any one has any advice i would appreciate it. thanks all

grim
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

As for making a chain, there are a few ways to go about it. I would not recommend modeling out a chain for a weapon that is going to be used in a video game, most of the time they are just polygon planes with nothing more than a texture of a chain with transparences. I have attached an image that should help you to model a chain though. If you want a different looking chain, just post a picture of what you are trying to create and I'll model it out so that you can get aniidea of how to do it.

Chris

Message 3 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Thank you for the reply and the image you posted looks like i want it to look.