Area :: Header
Now available for Desktop Subscription customers!
Smoke 2015 Extension 1 brings the LUT Editor and Matchbox to the timeline.
Discussion Groups

Modeling

Reply
Member
Mohanad_zizo10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-17-2013
Accepted Solution

How many Polys can 3ds max handle in my case ?

641 Views, 4 Replies
06-17-2013 06:40 AM

my PC is FX 8150 8 core processor , 4 Gb RAM and VGA 1GB Radeon 5750 .. 

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Mentor
camedeck
Posts: 3,322
Registered: ‎02-23-2005

Re: How many Polys can 3ds max handle in my case ?

06-17-2013 10:06 AM in reply to: Mohanad_zizo10

There is no exact number anyone can give you.  You could work in a scene with 10M or more, but it would likely be near impossible to navigate in the scene.  Especially with only 4GB of RAM.  And there is more to a scene than just polygons.  If you start using bitmaps in your materials, adding in lights, and so on, you'll notice the scene starting to slow down.  And your render times will start increasing quickly once your RAM is full.  

 

If you can, I suggest at least tripling your RAM.  I have 24GB and use most of it.  The big advantage to having a lot is being able to run other programs along with 3ds Max, and not having everything suffer because Windows is using the pagefile.

Dell T7610 workstation
Dual Intel Xeon E5-2680 v2 @2.8GHz (10 core)
32 GB RAM
nVidia Quadro K5000
Window 7 Enterprise
3ds Max Design 2014
V-Ray 3.00.07
Please use plain text.
Member
Mohanad_zizo10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-17-2013

Re: How many Polys can 3ds max handle in my case ?

06-18-2013 11:01 AM in reply to: camedeck
Thank U that was Helpful :smileyhappy:
i'm Gonna double my RAM to 8GB recently and in Near Future i'm Gonna Dobble It again ..
but let me ask U ... VGA card has a role in this i think ?
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Mentor
camedeck
Posts: 3,322
Registered: ‎02-23-2005

Re: How many Polys can 3ds max handle in my case ?

06-18-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: Mohanad_zizo10

Yes, your graphics card does affect how well you can work in a high poly scene.  A better card will allow you to navigate easier, and handle the visual effects in the viewports more easily (shading, AO,  shadows, etc.).  Some people feel a decent gaming card is best, while others prefer more expensive professional cards.  I use a Quadro 5000, and am pretty happy with it.  But it's in a work computer, so it wasn't my money buying it.  :smileyhappy:

Dell T7610 workstation
Dual Intel Xeon E5-2680 v2 @2.8GHz (10 core)
32 GB RAM
nVidia Quadro K5000
Window 7 Enterprise
3ds Max Design 2014
V-Ray 3.00.07
Please use plain text.
Member
Mohanad_zizo10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-17-2013

Re: How many Polys can 3ds max handle in my case ?

06-18-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: camedeck
I think i'm from those People who have Gaming Cards XD God bless ur Workstaion It's Great :smileyvery-happy:
Thanks for Ur Help :smileyvery-happy:
Please use plain text.