Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complicated model won't 'unfold' in texture editor

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
4008 Views, 7 Replies

Complicated model won't 'unfold' in texture editor

Hello,

I've made this model - probably badly, I just can't seem to find a way to make it more simple and still get the shape I want:

arm_1.jpgarm_2.jpg

I want to put a texture only on the front face of the model, so I thought the best way to do that would be to create a UV map for it?

When I put the model's uv's into the UV texture editor and try to 'unfold' it, this happens:

arm_3.jpgarm_4.jpg

I think I have to unfold it to be able to make a good uv map that I can texture in Photoshop and then apply to my model in Maya?

I am just learning Maya, and would really apprectiate it if anybody has any advice or knows what I should do to make it 'unfold' without going crazy.

Thank you for your time

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
damaggio
in reply to: Anonymous

Uv takes some time to master, an unfold here won't give you a good result right away, try the automatic map option and then sew together some shells that will be visible at camera , then you can do an unfold to relax the Uvs and then export for texturing.

I quick and dirty way if you are only intersted in one side of the model is to do a camera based UV.

There's tons of tutorials on the net check em out too and keep testing the different options available in Maya.

Best

Message 3 of 8
LifeArtist

Hi again ^^

... Is it a repeatable texture ?

If it is ... Then you can select the faces you want and put a new mat on it.

And then you can select the texture for this mat only :S

Regards

Edit: