Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

combining 2 half spheres to look like one

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
Anonymous
1829 Views, 18 Replies

combining 2 half spheres to look like one

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to Maya, so perhpas there is an obvious solution. What I'm trying to do Is this:

I have a slightly deforemed sphere, which I want to open like 2 sliding doors. If I use a polygon sphere, and make 2 half spheres out of it, then smooth it - they do not align to look like one sphere. What would be a solution for this?

If I use an insert edge loop tool it creates a rib on the surface of the sphere and it doesn't look smooth.

Thank you for help in advance.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
damaggio
in reply to: Anonymous

Post a snapshot jpg of what u r trying to do..... That will help
Message 3 of 19
Anonymous
in reply to: damaggio

here is a screen shot. On the left original geometry. On the right is the what I'm trying to achieve. Basically it's like 2 circularly sliding doors, which open the inside of the original geometry. In the middile is what I get If I use a polygon, split it in 2 and use a insert edge loop tool to avoid smoothing at the point of contact, but it's not working so well.

Message 4 of 19
damaggio

see if this helps you......once you are done with one half duplicate and mirror to the other side, then set the pivot in the right spot

for each door so they can rotate open.

Message 5 of 19
Anonymous

Thanks for you help, but this is not what I meant.