Community
Maya LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Maya Tie in With an Engine?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
deltayuri101
560 Views, 4 Replies

How Maya Tie in With an Engine?

Hello, I am a Teenager who has a massive passion to create a turn based rpg like Final Fantasy with the Havok engine. Im very new to Maya and any kind of game devolpment. So i was just curious how you would use Maya with the Havok engine or if you only need one of them to succefully make a game. I am doing this with another freind and he doenst know much either so if there are any good starting tips or general information that would be great!

Thank you

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
paulkind
in reply to: deltayuri101

The road ahead is long, winding, and full of rewarding experiences.  😃

It great you and your friend are looking into creating a game.  There are a number of ways Maya LT Interacts with game engines.

1.  Asset Creation :  This is the biggie.  By creating assets in maya LT you have more control over things and since mayaLT is a dyed in the wool modeler for game engines, its about as good as it gets for doing it.  Basically think of things you make in MayaLT as your Art Assets.

2. Animation : Traditionally MayaLT is also used for animating your ingame assets.  Something like a walk animation is much easier to do in a dedicated 3D creation tool like MayaLT.

3. Collision and Similar Meshes : Sometimes you need invisible meshes that things like your particle system of your game will interact with.  These meshes are generally heavily optimized to reduce comutational costs.  Though technically no different that an asset, it is a distinctly different use.