Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya is lagging with Intel Graphics driver but works fine with no drivers at all

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
ausrius
5649 Views, 7 Replies

Maya is lagging with Intel Graphics driver but works fine with no drivers at all

Hi,

Thing is I've been using maya on my schools computer which has kind a crappy Intel HD Graphic 3000, 4GB ram and some kind of Intel Celeron processor. Surprisingly I got no lag with maya 2010 on that machine.

It is last year now I'm studying in this school and we have to do some king of final project during like 6 months. Considering the fact that the thing I'm studying now is Media and the program includes Film making lessons and simillar things, I decided that I have plenty of time to work on short movie with some vfx, 3D graphics etc., but the problem is that maya conflicts with graphic drivers on my personal computer. And I don't really like to work on my schools computer.

It doesn't matter if I'm trying to use maya 2010 or maya 2014, the problem is exactly the same. Everything works fine until i go to component mode. Like if I trying to select faces or edges I'm getting 2-5 seconds delay until face/edge is highlighted. No matter what I do, the problem persists. And the thing is that my personal computer is way better than schools. Mine has 6GB of ram, Intel Core i5 @2.30ghz and Intel HD Graphic 4400 which is better than 3000 of course. So what is the problem?

After reading tons of forums I came up with an idea. I red that those users who had the same problem in one or other way (no matter if they had ATI or Nvidia graphic) they solved it by updating graphic drivers. The funny thing is that my computer already has latest drivers for it's HD 4400. So my idea was to uninstall drivers and see what happens.