Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya animation for web?

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
Anonymous
1442 Views, 12 Replies

Maya animation for web?

Hi All, as you might be able to tell with my subject title, I am a newbie.  Can anyone tell me if Maya animation can be done for the web like how flash animation can be?

Also can Maya animation be made interactive with user intervention by using scripts such as javascript or actionscript is flash?  I want to be able to make animation with maya where users can input his or her name, which I will incorporate into the animation.  I think in flash they use placeholders in a particular frame, so is that possible with Maya?  I am assuming that it needs to be rendered or exported to swf format first?  Thanks for any advice I can get!

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
FalconCrest
in reply to: Anonymous

I think you can, but your also looking at Flash Scripting which is just Java scripting. You want interactivity, I'd recommend you begin with Flash. If you don't have any prior experience in a 3D package, then Maya is going to appear as though you are fighting a dinosaur.
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
in reply to: FalconCrest

Thanks for the reply FalconCrest.  Yes I have been reading up on Maya and you are absolutely right I think it's a beast of a package to learn.  But I'm going to give it a shot because I feel I have no choice if I want to get my bills paid. lol.  

With maya, would I be able to put placeholders in certain frames for me to input or does that need to be exported to another program to do that?  Lastly, what format do most animators use to publish their work on the web or for download? Thanks.

Message 4 of 13
FalconCrest

Placeholders are, if I understood you correctly, are reference objects !