Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't select transform manipulator handles in perspective view?

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
10341 Views, 11 Replies

Can't select transform manipulator handles in perspective view?

Hi all! I've been working with Maya 2016 for the past four years or so, and normally I can troubleshoot my way out of bugs, but this one's got me truly stumped.

So I open up Maya 2016. I can move the object with the manipulator handles using the left mouse button as usual. However, if I switch to any of the orthographic views and then back to perspective, I can no longer select the handles of the manipulator; I can only transform the model using the Channel Box by manually entering values.

Some specs from my computer (yeah yeah, 'get a PC', I'm saving up for a workstation lol): Screen Shot 2018-01-13 at 10.13.43 PM.png

What I've tried to no avail: 

• Resetting preferences to Default; didn't work
  • creating new default preferences by labeling the prefs folder 'prefsOld'
  • uninstalling and reinstalling the software
  • Checking if the video card/its driver needs updating; I updated to High Sierra a couple of months ago and any vid card upgrades are bundled with the OS update.
  • swapping to a different mouse
  • Sacrificing a squirrel from my backyard

I also checked if this happened with files I'd already had saved and it does. The only thing that 'fixes' it it quitting Maya and reopening it, but then the same thing will happen if I try to switch between perspective and ortho views again.

I'm attaching a screen recording of the problem for reference because I genuinely have not encountered this before.

Any help is appreciated!! 

-Cristina

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
mspeer
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi!