MapGuide Enterprise Wishes

MapGuide Enterprise Wishes

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jumpinjackie
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-21-2006
Message 1 of 5 (174 Views)

Studio should be smarter with creating layers from SDF sources

174 Views, 4 Replies
07-25-2007 05:57 PM
Because SDF can store multiple geometry types, when I create a new layer from a SDF feature source, the new layer will have all 3 geometry styles, even if the SDF only has one type of geometry.

The only time a layer from a SDF feature source has a single geometry type style is if it was converted from a different format (eg. SHP)

Studio should be smarter about this, it should figure out that there's only polygons in it and so if I create a new layer from it. It will only have polygon styles. Not all 3 together!

Currently, the only way to change this is to manually edit out the useless styles in the layer document. And that is a time consuming process.

- Jackie
http://themapguyde.blogspot.com
http://au.linkedin.com/in/jackieng
*Jason Birch
Message 2 of 5 (174 Views)

Re: Studio should be smarter with creating layers from SDF sources

07-25-2007 11:55 PM in reply to: jumpinjackie
jackie.ng wrote:
> Because SDF can store multiple geometry types, when I create a new layer from a SDF feature source, the new layer will have all 3 geometry styles, even if the SDF only has one type of geometry.

That's not necessarily true. SDF files contain a schema which, among
other things, defines what kinds of geometry types are allowed in each
geometry column. If you create an SDF class that limits the geometry
column to a specific geometry type, then only that type will be
displayed in Studio.

How are you creating the SDF files?

I found this to be a problem with FME2006, because it did not allow you
to set the geometry type, but FME2007 does (you need to replace your
destination data sets).

Also, fdo2fdo allows you to do schema re-mapping, which I'm pretty sure
includes changing the allowed geometry types.

Jason
Active Member
dhequet
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-08-2006
Message 3 of 5 (174 Views)

Re: Studio should be smarter with creating layers from SDF sources

08-16-2007 06:04 AM in reply to: jumpinjackie
Even if it can be defined in SDF, this problem remains when you use other kind of datas:
IE: the new "Oracle foreign datastore" feature in AMGE 2008 doesnt know what kind of geometry you have in the tables. the layer will have all 3 geometry style. The only method to prevent this is to export your layer as xml, the import it whit mapagent. That is not user friendly.
Can't you add a checkbox or somewhat that can limit geometry style used on a layer on the creation?
Distinguished Contributor
jumpinjackie
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-21-2006
Message 4 of 5 (174 Views)

Re: Studio should be smarter with creating layers from SDF sources

08-16-2007 06:57 PM in reply to: jumpinjackie
The SDFs were created from Map3D 2008.

Hmmm, on second thought this could be more of a Map3D problem, as it always produces an SDF with all 3 geometry types.

And Studio is just simply interpeting that.

This wish was probably for the wrong product XD

- Jackie
http://themapguyde.blogspot.com
http://au.linkedin.com/in/jackieng
*Jason Birch
Message 5 of 5 (174 Views)

Re: Studio should be smarter with creating layers from SDF sources

08-21-2007 09:22 PM in reply to: jumpinjackie
dhequet wrote:
> Even if it can be defined in SDF, this problem remains when you use other kind of datas:
> IE: the new "Oracle foreign datastore" feature in AMGE 2008 doesnt know what kind of geometry you have in the tables. the layer will have all 3 geometry style. The only method to prevent this is to export your layer as xml, the import it whit mapagent. That is not user friendly.
> Can't you add a checkbox or somewhat that can limit geometry style used on a layer on the creation?

I agree that it would be useful to allow the users to select which
geometry types to use for data sources that contain more than one
geometry type (or which only contain one but aren't smart about exposing
it). I'd like to see all stylization options presented with, as you
say, checkboxes next to each to enable/disable them.

Jason
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.