Inventor Publisher
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Publisher Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor Publisher topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This may help you decide whether to buy Publisher

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
cts2013
981 Views, 3 Replies

This may help you decide whether to buy Publisher

I have been using tolerating Publisher for a few months now, as a new user. My company particularly liked the fact that Word documents would update if the model was changed by the CAD guys. 

From day 1, it was slow and clunky. My company use large models cos.... we build large machines! It was so slow that I was seriously thinking about asking for some training on Publisher as the software was so slow to respond, you couldn't teach yourself as you went along.  We were told that my quad core, 8gb machine was no good. I installed the demo onto a more powerful computer and it improved quite noticabley.

Based on that, we bought a more powerful machine (i7 3.5ghz, 16gb RAM, SSD hard disk,Nvidia Quadro K4000 gfx card). It was hit and miss. Tried support and was told to update the software to the latest SP. Did all that, still hit and miss. Until I got this in an email:

I’ve had confirmation back from Autodesk about the performance problems in publisher. They say that:

I got an update from development. According to them, the geometry of this model is too big for Publisher to handle. Publisher does not use the same mechanism as Inventor uses to open/save file, and render model. So basically Publisher cannot run as faster as Inventor does.
Due to Publisher self-limitation, it would be better to use this model in a way divided into smaller modules.

After some further discussions with Autodesk the advice I provided previously would be the best practice to move forward. Essentially you need to break down the models into smaller chunks and reduce the amount of detail showing where possible."