Inventor Publisher

Inventor Publisher

Reply
Board Manager
Jon.Balgley
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 11 of 20 (792 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

09-02-2011 10:49 AM in reply to: bowen192

Backup files should be saved under the "OldVersions" folder, in the same location as the original IPB file.  If they are not being saved there, please let us know.

 

If you want to uninstall SP2, you need to go to the Windows "Add/Remove Programs" (aka "Uninstall Programs") window (this is slightly different in each version of Windows), and then select the "View Installed Updates" option.  The updates for each program are listed there.  This will allow you to uninstall SP2 and go back to SP1.  If you decide to go this route, I hope that you will report back on what happens.



Jon Balgley
Autodesk Configurator 360 / Inventor ETO team
Autodesk, Inc.
Mentor
bowen192
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 12 of 20 (785 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

09-05-2011 03:11 AM in reply to: Jon.Balgley

Uninstalled SP2.

 

Seems to work a bit better.

 

Only crashed twice this morning, once when changing a component style, and once when selecting a custom selection.

 

No backup (as I'm not on SP now) but I've only lost an hours work this morning which is pretty good.

 

EDIT: Just noticed that, despite saving it almost every ten minutes, it hasn't saved my work once today.  So I'm actually back to where I was at 0830 this morning.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 13 of 20 (663 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-22-2012 07:34 PM in reply to: bowen192

hi bowen192, i am just wondering did that sp2 ever get sorted? it seemed pretty bad from what i saw.

 

i use inventor but we just got publisher 2012 for our guys to do manuals with, but i jumped on myself & had a bit of a go to see how it performed, then after i found some issues, downloaded and installed sp1 & sp2 just now and by doing so completey lost the ability to manually explode.

 

i had a look for a hot fix and found none... just the sp1 & 2 that i had already scored.

 

after reading a few threads on here i uninstalled sp2. considering this was released several months ago i am wondering if i am missing something. Autodesk usually takes a while to fixing their software but i am surprised they seem to be ignoring this.

 

besides that. i am looking for a way to make templates, export to pdf without proportions of image distorting and a few other things that do not seem to work or allow users to configure options to control it.

best regards,
- Mark

(Kudo or Tag if Solved - it may help others)

PDSU 2015 Windows 8.1, 64bit.

Mentor
bowen192
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 14 of 20 (657 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-23-2012 02:10 AM in reply to: Mark_Wigan

Mark_Wigan wrote:

hi bowen192, i am just wondering did that sp2 ever get sorted? it seemed pretty bad from what i saw.

 

i use inventor but we just got publisher 2012 for our guys to do manuals with, but i jumped on myself & had a bit of a go to see how it performed, then after i found some issues, downloaded and installed sp1 & sp2 just now and by doing so completey lost the ability to manually explode.

 

i had a look for a hot fix and found none... just the sp1 & 2 that i had already scored.

 

after reading a few threads on here i uninstalled sp2. considering this was released several months ago i am wondering if i am missing something. Autodesk usually takes a while to fixing their software but i am surprised they seem to be ignoring this.

 

besides that. i am looking for a way to make templates, export to pdf without proportions of image distorting and a few other things that do not seem to work or allow users to configure options to control it.


I've just read back all my posts; my, my, I'm an angry young man.

 

Short answer

 

It is better, but there are lots of frustrating crashes still and performance is a major issue.

 

Long answer 

 

From what I've seen and read on here over the last few months, it seems Publisher's main issue is dealing with lots of components.  If you look at any complaints on here, they are always from people with large amounts of components in their models.  If you have less than 100 components, it seems to be fine.

 

Application errors I still have include;

 

Applying styles; if you change Styles on sub-components, changing a style for the whole assembly does not work.

 

Setting affected snapshots; changing styles and backgrounds over multiple snapshots often doesn't work.

 

Crashes at least twice a day.  Wouldn't be so bad if it ever saved a backup file or if saving large models didn't take so long. 

 

I could go on all day.  Autodesk do seem to be responding and interacting with us now though.  This time last year, it would take a month for them to get back to you.  Now you get a response within a day.  Timera seems particularly enthusiastic.

Employee
TimeraAutodesk
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 15 of 20 (649 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-23-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: bowen192

The Backup file will be placed directly into a folder called OldVersions, with SP2 installed are you not seeing this folder being created at all?

 

OldVersions.png

Employee
TimeraAutodesk
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 16 of 20 (647 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-23-2012 02:16 PM in reply to: bowen192

Hi Guys -

 

While it's true that very large assemblies bog down performance within Publisher, I think I'm beginning to understand where some of these crashing and performance issues are coming from. In case you weren't aware, SP2 will only work if you have SP1 completely unistalled first. I apologize if that wasn't made clear before.

 

Do me a favor and uninstall both SP1 and SP2 from your drives, restart your machine and then install ONLY SP2.

 

Then let me know if you see a difference :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks,

 

Timera Hart

Autodesk

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 17 of 20 (632 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-24-2012 06:00 PM in reply to: Jon.Balgley

thanks bowen192. knowing that will save me time trying to figure out if i was missing something or if it was just the software.

 

Timera, i appreciate that reply. that explains a lot... i had installed sp1 and then sp2 (which from my experience that requirement is typical for the family of autodesk products i have been using) so i am surprised to hear that sp1 had to be uninstalled prior to sp2. (i had read through the help "readme" files to see if there were any notes on this and saw none. you should make sure that kind of thing is very clear on the download page for those kind of updates and service packs). is it too low brow of me to suggest that Autodesk please consider your customers time is vaulable and maybe  some testing at your end before you sell software or roll out updates without including important information.

 

 

best regards,
- Mark

(Kudo or Tag if Solved - it may help others)

PDSU 2015 Windows 8.1, 64bit.

Mentor
bowen192
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 18 of 20 (623 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

02-27-2012 04:03 AM in reply to: TimeraAutodesk

 

 


TimeraAutodesk wrote:

The Backup file will be placed directly into a folder called OldVersions, with SP2 installed are you not seeing this folder being created at all?

 

OldVersions.png


It's there, but the documents are just a history of user saves, which I fail to see a use for.

 

There never appears to be a crash file.

Valued Contributor
smilinger
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎10-31-2005
Message 19 of 20 (516 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

12-04-2012 11:12 PM in reply to: Jon.Balgley

Do I need to install SP1 first then SP2? I see no instruction about this in the readme.

Mentor
bowen192
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 20 of 20 (511 Views)

Re: Publisher 2012 Service Pack 2 is now available

12-05-2012 12:48 AM in reply to: smilinger

smilinger wrote:

Do I need to install SP1 first then SP2? I see no instruction about this in the readme.


No, do not install SP1.  Just install SP2.

 

Can't believe it's not in the readme!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.