Inventor Publisher

Inventor Publisher

Reply
Valued Contributor
marshallw
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 1 of 4 (535 Views)

Cannot Manually Explode (Move) Single Instances of parts

535 Views, 3 Replies
04-05-2010 09:58 AM
Has anyone else had problems selecting individual instances of parts for some form of editing mod? Please see attached ZIP. Am I doing something wrong here?
Board Manager
Jon.Balgley
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 2 of 4 (535 Views)

Re: Cannot Manually Explode (Move) Single Instances of parts

04-07-2010 01:42 PM in reply to: marshallw
The short answer is that you cannot do this, on an inserted IAM file, because (presumably) the part is a component of a subassembly that is instanced several times. Publisher currently works on the subassembly's "component definition" hence all instances are affected.

The only workaround is to export your Inventor assembly to DWF, and then insert the DWF file instead of the IAM. DWF does not have a concept of a "definition", hence does not behave this way (each subassembly is independent, even if identical).

The biggest (only?) downside of this workaround is that you cannot take advantage of Publisher's "update" mechanism.


As a separate point, note that you cannot explode a single part, only an assembly or selection-set containing multiple parts. The parts are exploded away from each other, so "of course" you cannot explode just one.


Jon Balgley
Autodesk Configurator 360 / Inventor ETO team
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
samantos
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎12-02-2005
Message 3 of 4 (493 Views)

Re: Cannot Manually Explode (Move) Single Instances of parts

06-18-2010 09:24 AM in reply to: Jon.Balgley

Please apply for Beta testing.  Software is available now!

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Publisher/Beta-is-now-available-testers-wanted/td-p/...

 

-Sam



Sam Antos
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
ptal
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-20-2010
Message 4 of 4 (485 Views)

Re: Cannot Manually Explode (Move) Single Instances of parts

06-20-2010 10:10 PM in reply to: Jon.Balgley

But why can't you even turn off visibility for the separate instances?

It's bad enough that you have to move them together - Or should I say you can't - because you move 1 and they all move, but if you select multiple to move - it fails to move any.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.