Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Patent line drawing view

Patent line drawing view

Is there a plugin or some program that can convert your 3D work from Inventor into patent grade line drawings?

8 Comments
mrattray
Advisor

What's deficient about the current Inventor drawing environment?

Anonymous
Not applicable

I don't know.

Is that for producing patent drawings.. ?

I'm new to Inventor.

From the drawings I've seen in Inventor they didn't have those little surface line details I've seen in patent drawings I've checked out on Google patent search.

Anonymous
Not applicable

mrattray
Advisor

It's been a long time since I did a patent drawing, but I don't remember putting any of those shading lines in like you show. I just made a standard engineering type drawing and it was fine. I think those are likely either very old drawings, or the drafter chose to add them to help illustrate the contours of an organic surface(like in your example).

If you're filing for a patent then your patent lawyer should be able to answer your questions about what's required on the drawing better than I can.

Try creating a new file using one of the available drawing templates and see what you can come up with.

Run through some of the drawing tutorials in the help section if you're having trouble.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Here's a link to someone mentioing how their Inventor drawings were rejected by the USPTO for lack of shading lines.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Patent-Drawing-Shading-Lines/td-p/2808288

And if you have a look at: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?49788-Turning-inventor-designs-to-figures-for-a-US-pate...

you might recognize a familar member also from this forum who says:

"Patent (US) drawings are not dimensioned engineering drawings.
The closest image type from Inventor is an Illustration rendering type."

I'm doing this solo, no patent attorneys. Small personal project.