Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
K.Luge
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 11 of 17 (186 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-12-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

 

...and  *manually* enter the hole depth.  (And no, a section view or break out is not an option.)

 

But seriously – forget the hole note thing -  if the value shown for geometry is unpredictable – what use is the cad?

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 12 of 17 (180 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-12-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: K.Luge

You've got a lot more going on there than just a simple hole.  If you're going to document the geometry created by that iFeature, one simple hole note is probably not enough, and yeah, sorry, but a section view is going to be required.  That feature has 10 different diameters at various depths, 3 (I think) chamfers, threads, 12 different depths, counting the start plane and the point at the bottom.  A simple 1.35 x 4.xx deep isn't going to cover it.

 

A hole note is only going to reliably work when you're using it to document a hole feature.  An extrusion or revolved feature may or may not get picked up by it.  To put it a different way, there's some circumstances when you could use a crescent wrench as a prybar, but you shouldn't complain because it won't work as a prybar in every circumstance.  That's not what it was designed to do.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Workstation: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Contributor
K.Luge
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 13 of 17 (169 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-12-2012 02:23 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

This is getting silly.  

 

With a threaded hole, one doesn’t need to describe the thread geometry, one can say ¼-20 blah-blah etc, and be done with it.  Same goes for various other things - JIC ports, as an example.  That part has a similar feature.

 

But seriously – forget the hole note thing -  if the value shown for geometry is unpredictable – what use is the cad?

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 14 of 17 (162 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-12-2012 02:43 PM in reply to: K.Luge

If your crescent wrench's performance as a prybar is unpredictable, what use is your crescent wrench?

 

Use the right tool for the right job, and your results will be predictable.  Use the hole note tool on a hole feature, use the dimension tool on something that is not a hole feature.  Predictable - and correct - results every time.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Workstation: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,384
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 15 of 17 (136 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-13-2012 05:01 AM in reply to: K.Luge

I don't see this as silly at all.

 

If the software wasn't designed to do what you want it to do, then either deal with the outcome of what happens when you try to use the software in that fashion, or change your methods to match what the software can do.

Contributor
K.Luge
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 16 of 17 (117 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-13-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: ampster

 

But there are 2 holes there.   Both are about 4” deep.  So you use the hole note to find the one that’s about 4” deep and then you end up with the wrong value for the diameter.   But you’re not aware of this, nor are you aware of the fact that Inventor will show the diameter from a different hole,  and so you’re not predisposed to verifying that both dimensions produced by a hole note are correct.

 

So the assembly folks build the thing and it doesn’t work – they ask you why and you investigate and eventually discover that what looks like very legitimate dimension is wrong.  I mean, it’s not like tagging the quadrant of circle instead of the center.  You’ve got a leader pointing at a circle and a real dimension that looks to be correct except that it’s not. 

 

It’s silly that a cad program will put a leader on a circle and show the diameter of a different circle that’s in a different view.  

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,327
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 17 of 17 (106 Views)

Re: Wrong value displayed in drawing.

12-13-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: K.Luge

Can't say that I have.  It looks like the hole was made with an ifeature.  Can you post this file too?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.