Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why use Task Scheduler to migrate files?

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
iamerm
394 Views, 3 Replies

Why use Task Scheduler to migrate files?

This is probably a dumb question, but I'll ask anyway:  what is the benefit of using Task Scheduler to migrate all of my Inventor files to the latest versions?

I've upgraded several times, but I've never done a full file migration.  I've read instructions on HOW to do it, but, again, I'm not sure WHY.  Thanks in advance for any input.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: iamerm

I have never used it before, but -

I suspect an obvious reason to use Task Scheduler is to do the migration why I am at home sleeping (not that I actually do that either).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 4
Curtis_Waguespack
in reply to: iamerm

Hi  iamerm,

I think the best reason is to improve assembly performance when opening and saving large assembly files. Often when you update an assembly created in a previous version and then make a simple change you'll be presented with the need to migrate all of the component files when saving. This can be time consuming and disrupt the imidiate task at hand.

If you look at step 7 in the "Before you Begin" section of this link, you'll find a few more tools that are often important when migrating:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/0000-Installa0/0192-Data_Mig192/0193-Data_Mig193...