Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
KF090
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Message 1 of 6 (216 Views)

When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

216 Views, 5 Replies
03-12-2012 05:53 AM

Is it possible to make visible or part that is suppressed?

 

My situation is that I'm creating a generic drawing that will show multiple configurations of one of our products.  We have optional output customer connection styles.  I showed the most popular style but I need to show one small part for the inspectors to know that it sometimes may be there.

 

The issue is that this is in a detail view of the base view and I can't change the base view, I need this to only effect the detail view.

 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Valued Mentor
Martin_Goodland
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 2 of 6 (193 Views)

Re: When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

03-12-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: KF090

If you use Design Views rather than LOD you will be able to get what you need. You should not be using LOD to turn items on and off in a drawing.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/What-does-this-Assembly-Message-Mean/td-p/3344085

 

Post 8 onwards may help.

 

Regards

 

Martin


PDSU 2014 SP1.3
Windows 7 64bit SP1, Office 2007 Pro
Intel i7 980x, 24 Gb DDR3 RAM
Geforce 760GTX Graphics (Diver 337.88)
256GB SSD OS, 80GB SSD working folder
Space Pilot
Distinguished Contributor
KF090
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Message 3 of 6 (185 Views)

Re: When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

03-12-2012 10:51 AM in reply to: Martin_Goodland

There was a reason that I chose LoD over Design Views.  One was because my system is/was 32bit running XP.  Another reason had to do with using certain LoD's within other assemblies.

 

I'm going to look into Design Views though.  Thanks.  Not sure it will help me right now though.

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 4 of 6 (169 Views)

Re: When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

03-12-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: KF090

Maybe I'm missing something here, but could you not have this optional part turned on in the LOD, then turn its visibility off manually in the views where you don't want it?

 

To turn it off manually, just find the part in the browser (under the appropriate view), right click on it, and uncheck Visibility.  Note that if this doesn't work (Visibiilty is grayed out), it typically means the view is set to be associative to a view rep.

 

An alternative to this manual method would be to use your LOD as-is, but then also have view reps with and without the optional part.  You can set both an LOD and a View Rep in a drawing view, so the options don't have to be mutually exclusive.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
KF090
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Message 5 of 6 (161 Views)

Re: When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

03-12-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: jtylerbc

The *.iam file is setup so that each LoD is a different possible customer configuration.  It's a tank weldment where the main body of the tank and the input junction box are the same on all configurations.  The output is what changes depending on customer need.  I setup LoD's for each tank output style in the tank weldment *.iam.

 

Then in the overall assembly I created a LoD for each different style of output configuration.  I also created a few LoD's for detail views of certain parts or areas of the assembly that i needed to show.

 

The issue I'm having is that I need to show in a detail view one part (a compression lug) as an optional part.

 

As of right now I just editted a balloon and force it to the right item number on the list and pointed to the area where this part would be located.  But depending on the inspector they may want to actually see it on the drawing (which they probably will considering the multi-page list they sent for us to follow for certification).

 

 

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 6 of 6 (159 Views)

Re: When using a LoD in a .idw drawing...

03-12-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: KF090

That would seem to lend itself to my LOD / View Rep combo idea.  I think you could do the following:

 

1)  Have the lug active in all LOD's.

2)  Turn visibility off for the lug in the Default View Rep

3)  Create a second View Rep with the lug visibility on (ex.  Lug On).

4)  For all your "main" views, use the appropriate LOD and the Default View Rep.

5)  For your detail views, use the appropriate LOD and the "Lug On" View Rep.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!