Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wheel - Axle hole

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
dmytri.eck
4093 Views, 13 Replies

Wheel - Axle hole

Hello everybody,

First off, let me say that I'm brand new to Autodesk Inventor 2012 and its products.  I have experience using PRO/ Engineer Wildfire 4.0 so I have a slight idea of what I would like to do but the process by which to do it can be confusing.

I am trying to create a wheel that can be rotate about the horizontal axis.  It should have a hole for axle to fit through.  However, when I try to do this it will not let me select the horizontal axis to rotate about.  I also tried to rotate about a center line that I created but it wouldn't do that either...do I have the right idea?  If so, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks for you help!

Windows 7 64-bit (Service Pack 1)
3.40 GHz Quad Core processor w/ Hyperthreading
8GB Ram
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1GB Ram
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
JDMather
in reply to: dmytri.eck

Attach your file here.

You might read this document.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf

It sounds like you might be trying to rotate about the grid rather than the axis.
Expand the origin in the browser to find the x,y and z axis.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 14
mcgyvr
in reply to: JDMather

Create the wheel ipt file, create the axle ipt file, start an assembly (iam file). Place your axle and wheel into that iam file (in that order). Mate constraint the center axis of the wheel to the center axis of the axle.