Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bstewart
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 1 of 14 (1,087 Views)

What ERP software do you use?

1087 Views, 13 Replies
10-05-2012 01:20 PM

Hi.  I'm looking for some recommendations on ERP software for our medium-sized engineering/manufacturing company.  It would need to have Inventor to ERP BOM capabilities.

 

We currently have engineer-to-order software in place, but the developer is not interested in fixing its bugs or updating it to work better with it's own Inventor add-on software.

 

So, if anyone has some comments, good or bad, I'd like to hear them.

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Bob

____________________________________________________
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 | Vault Basic 2014 (SP2)
Dell Precision M6600 | Intel i7-2820QM - 16GB
nVIDIA Quadro 4000M | Windows 7/64 Pro
Valued Contributor
falkmassmann
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 2 of 14 (1,058 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

10-06-2012 04:47 AM in reply to: bstewart

It depends on your ERP System mostly I would say.

If I understand you correctly you´re looking for an interface directly from Inventor to your ERP-System.

Most companies use another program inbetween data transition from CAD to ERP which is a PDM-System.

From my background there are a lot more companies using a PDM-System before they transmit the data to ERP.

 

There is a plethora of PDM-Systems available for Inventor, Vault to be named first because it has a very high level CAD-Integration for Autodesk Products. But there are others which not only have an interface for Inventor but other major CAD-Systems as well like CATIA, Solidworks, Creo (ProE), NX, Solid Edge.

For example Pro.File has a wide support of CAD-Systems.

But in my experience third party PDM Systems mostly are using the Inventor API for their CAD-Integration and that´s where functionality sometimes lacks.

So it really depends on your needs and by no means can this question be answered in a forum thread.

In your position I would contact companies that either implement ERP/PDM-Integrations or even create them.

The topic is complex and someone experienced in this field will help you a lot.

 

Best regards

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 14 (1,050 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

10-06-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: bstewart

We use "Syspro" for our ERP system. There is a 3rd party plug-in to interface with Inventor. We have implemented this 3rd party plug-in due to the nature of our manufacturing process. A great number of our products are weldments and we don't need part numbers for these individual components that make up the weldment. Since we burn/cut the items in-house our selves.

 

These components are not used in other units and would never be sold by them selves, so we need to make decisions at each component as to whither it requires a Part Number in our ERP system of not. If one of the components in the weldment is used in other weldments, then it would get a Part Number in our ERP system. The items that don't get a Part Number, are cut/burned from steel plate, so our ERP system would list the required amount of steel plate and the pattern number to use with the quantity to be cut.

 

We've been on different versions of this software since 1994, don't know how we could function without it.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
bstewart
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 4 of 14 (984 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

10-09-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: blair

@falkmassmann

We're actually looking for a replacement ERP system that has the ability to interface with Inventor's Bill of Material.  Our current ERP does it, but it's not functioning as it should.  The developer's not interested in fixing the issues.

 

@blair

I'll check out Syspro and see if it has what we're looking for.

 

Thanks for your comments.

 

A colleague was talking to Caleb Funk from Imaginit last week.  He asked him what others are using.  His response was AS/400 and something called Syteline.  Does anybody know or use Syteline?  If so, how is it working for you?

 

TIA

Bob

____________________________________________________
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 | Vault Basic 2014 (SP2)
Dell Precision M6600 | Intel i7-2820QM - 16GB
nVIDIA Quadro 4000M | Windows 7/64 Pro
Valued Contributor
falkmassmann
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 5 of 14 (976 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

10-09-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: bstewart

May I ask what ERP system your company is using?

 

Right now I can only come up with one Software that has a direct integration from Inventor to ERP and that is CAD-Desktop for SAP. There might be other Systems that are capable of this.

 

Here is a PDF for a quick overview of the Inventor Integration.

http://www.cideon-software.com/backstage_09/documentpool/software/flyer-eng-cad-integration-/SAP%20P...

 

I´m not trying to promote SAP in any way, it´s just the only direct ERP integration I know of at this point.

PDM to ERP interfaces are a complete different matter and most likely are available for the major ERP Systems.

 

All the best

Distinguished Contributor
bstewart
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 6 of 14 (951 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

10-09-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: falkmassmann

We're currently using Questica SE.

 

And thanks for the pdf link.

____________________________________________________
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 | Vault Basic 2014 (SP2)
Dell Precision M6600 | Intel i7-2820QM - 16GB
nVIDIA Quadro 4000M | Windows 7/64 Pro
New Member
shohelasia
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2014
Message 7 of 14 (428 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

01-24-2014 05:58 AM in reply to: bstewart

What is ERP Software/what is the task of ERP Software?

ERP Software:  ERP (Enterprise resource planning) is business management software, usually a suite of integrated applications that a company uses to manage business processes.

Including:

      •   Product planning and development
      •   Manufacturing
      •   Marketing and sales
      •   Inventory management
      •   Shipping
      • HR

ERP Software can help you to run your Corporation in one platform from where you can manage your total business.

 ERP Software Bangladesh

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 14 (421 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

01-25-2014 11:23 AM in reply to: shohelasia
We use Syspro, currently on release 6.1
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Member
morrisangelo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-10-2014
Message 9 of 14 (82 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

12-10-2014 05:20 AM in reply to: blair

 Blair,

 

What's the 3rd party program you use to connect Inventor & Syspro?  We're killing ourselves with manual data entry and we desperately need a way for Syspro to bring in BOM data from Inventor.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 10 of 14 (75 Views)

Re: What ERP software do you use?

12-10-2014 05:47 AM in reply to: morrisangelo

morrisangelo wrote:

 Blair,

 

What's the 3rd party program you use to connect Inventor & Syspro?  We're killing ourselves with manual data entry and we desperately need a way for Syspro to bring in BOM data from Inventor.


Google says its called "CADtalk" :smileyhappy:

Blair can confirm.. 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.