Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
arto.ww
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 10 (394 Views)
Accepted Solution

Weldment problem

394 Views, 9 Replies
03-31-2013 09:09 AM

How can I make a weldment in these kind of situtation? Arrow is pointing where I want weldment to be.

There's cut in circle part and other part is filling that to half way. How can I fill that with weld?

 

Thanks:smileyhappy:

When you see a "Cross-Part" error, this usually points to "Adaptively". When you clear (un-check) the Adaptively on the parts, the welds in the "slots" can be made.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (386 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

03-31-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: arto.ww

When you see a "Cross-Part" error, this usually points to "Adaptively". When you clear (un-check) the Adaptively on the parts, the welds in the "slots" can be made.

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,833
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 10 (373 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

03-31-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: arto.ww

This assembly is designed incorrectly.

Tap Drill Size.png

 

A 20mm hole will not have any material for threads.

 

And a 20x8 box will not fit into a 20x8 hole (unless the parts are made to very tight tolerance and press fit).

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
arto.ww
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 4 of 10 (321 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: arto.ww

Blair: That did the trick. Thanks!

Now I can make fillet welds around the slot. Is it possible to fill that slot with one weld? If you know what I mean.

 

JDMather: Yes it might be incorrect, I'm just learning. I thought that when I put thread in same size extruded hole would be correct way. Perhaps it would be easier to use Hole command with thread option.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 10 (309 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:04 AM in reply to: arto.ww

Select the"Base surface for your #1, then select the four sides for your #2. You will then get all four sides under one fillet.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Contributor
arto.ww
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 6 of 10 (289 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: blair

Yes I did that, but I don't mean that now. I mean is there a possiblity to make one single weld, one bigger weld which is edge to edge in that slot.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (264 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: arto.ww

Look at "Groove Weld"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Contributor
arto.ww
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 8 of 10 (242 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:29 PM in reply to: blair

Yes that works. I tried it before but I chose faces from different parts, that didn't fill the slot. Now I chose faces from same part (circle), opposite sides of slot. That filled the slot entirely.

 

But if I do a stress analysis to this weldment, it would be better to put fillet welds around slot faces?

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (238 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:46 PM in reply to: arto.ww

Most of my FEA work is done in Mechanical Simulation. I'm not sure how the FEA within IV would treat the zero-gap items and how it reads/treats welds.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Contributor
arto.ww
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 10 of 10 (236 Views)

Re: Weldment problem

04-01-2013 10:49 PM in reply to: blair

I don't need that FEA, just a question what came in my mind.

 

Thanks for your answers!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.